Prep-time on tracks, setting cues etc...
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    59

    Default Prep-time on tracks, setting cues etc...

    I was wondering how much time people spend on prepping each track they use in their collection. I personally find myself working on this for 2-6 hours almost everyday, and its hard to keep up, getting new tunes all of the time. I've heard several friends who use Serato say that their music already comes with cue points set up for it. I'm using Traktor & VCI-100, working 5-7 nights per week. I usually have to re-set the grid cue, load, some loops and some visual flags for where I can cut out of the tracks.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Baltimore MD
    Posts
    228

    Default

    I spend random free time I have during the day prepping tracks (~30-40min/day), and can usually bang out a song in 1-2 min. I set cue points at the end of the intro, the start of an outro, starts of breakdowns, and any cool vocal samples I like. My rule is that I won't download new songs unless I have less than 40 to process. That keeps my quantity of downloads low and quality up.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Jason Cerna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    329

    Default

    i do all my sorting every tuesday or wednesday. time wise, depends on how many tracks i get in. can be 1-2 hours.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru CionniAsDj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    536

    Default

    Twice a week, like 2-3-4 hours at time.
    Traktor S2 . Traktor X1 . Traktor F1 (in UPS hands atm) . MBP . TP2 . Reloop Rhp-10 .

    Soundcloud.
    Gone Vci 100 se arcade edition . Audio 2DJ . Launchpad . RMX . lpd8 .

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard DjMonstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Gulf Coast, FL
    Posts
    46

    Default

    As much time as I can. I try to get my social networking done at the same time also.
    Attack it like a savage

    15" MBP | TSP2 | Kontrol S4 | 2 Technics 1210 MK2 | Kontrol X1 | XONE XD2-53 | KRK Rokit 5s

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I prep my tracks immediately after I buy them. That's usually 10-15 at a time and it takes me 2-3 minutes each track. My prep incudes checking the grid, adjusting the grid if needed, marking vocal end and start, setting intro and outro loops and adding any cue points I might need. I also rate the song and give it an energy rating
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    Do you guys do it by ear w/ the metronome, or by sight.

    personally i just let traktor do its thing, sometimes adjust the grid and thats enough for me..

    whenever i play out im on cdjs or ssl anyway..
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  8. #8
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoodless View Post
    Do you guys do it by ear w/ the metronome, or by sight.

    personally i just let traktor do its thing, sometimes adjust the grid and thats enough for me..

    whenever i play out im on cdjs or ssl anyway..
    I check it by hear and 90% of the time it's spot on.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    I've always done the bare necessity when prepping tracks. I import fix tags/artwork, beatgrid.

    Most of the reason being that traditionally I am using DVS in absolute mode and so don't need load makers.

    As for cue points/loops etc I do that when ever I have a jam session and mix that tune.
    This is especially true now that I have use both traktor and itch.
    Otherwise it would take ages.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor spiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    104

    Default

    I set cue's and thats about it. As little time as possible.

    2-6 hours a day? Get less tunes...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •