Beatmatching

Thread: Beatmatching

Tech Mentor

Default Beatmatching

Hey, I've been practicing for roughly 3 months now and my ears have been properly trained as I know instantly if a track is slower, or faster then the other and I can adjust accordingly.

There's just one thing I can't master AT ALL, and that is KEEPING the beats in sync. I always drop a track, match by headphones and when I put it on it either sounds off or will go off in about 5-10 seconds. ALWAYS.

I've tried riding the pitch, and it goes nice and steady but it just seems like I can't leave it alone for a second or it'll go off again, leaving no space at all to mess around with EQ and effects...

I've spent some nights just generally pissed off because I just couldn't get it right... Surely after 3 months you should be able to match the beats...

Am I doing it the right way? What other techniques are out there? I would apreciate some tips and ways of practise...

Thanks in advance
    Woah

its all about practice.
    your getting them close but the're not matched

seriously there is a thread about beatmatching on the same page...
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

What gear are you using? Do you have the option to adjust the pitch range (%)? You might try a lower setting. This will give you finer control over the pitch adjustment.

If you're having an especially difficult time getting/keeping them matched, don't beat (pun intended) yourself up over it...Some days you just aren't feeling it...With continuous practice, you'll eventually you'll get it.

Props for taking the time to learn to beat match!
    SL1200 MK3D's, Kontrol Z2, Kontrol X1 MKII, Kontrol Z1, KRK Rokit 6's, MacBook Air, Midi Fighter 3D, Midi Fighter Pro, kazoo, gourd banjo.

NEW DEEP FUTURE BASS MIX
    Soundcloud|Mixcrate|Mixcloud|Facebook

Tech Mentor