Does SSL have a phase meter?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor jezalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    260

    Default Does SSL have a phase meter?

    Quick question, as I cant be bothered searching through manuals or downloading SSL just to see.

    Does SSL have a Traktor Style phase meter (or equivalent) which tells you how far in/out of sync your tracks are?

    Cheers
    Dell Studio XPS 1645 | TSP 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Audio 6 | HDJ-1000 | Alto PAM5A

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Audeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    415

    Default

    If you just looked at the Serato screen at Google Images.. you could see that it uses huge waveforms and a smaller grid in the middle to match beats.

    Using your analogy, I couldn't be bothered to explain this further.. But hey, just keep putting in that little extra effort to achieve things!
    Midi Fighter|Kontrol X1|A4DJ|HDJ2000|MBP 13" 2,53Ghz 60GB SSD/500GB HDD

  3. #3
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,742

    Default

    Yes. And, it's based on detected transients, not beat grids, so once you get used to it (and combined with headphones), it's just as accurate with zero effort.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor jezalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Thanks guys!

    I'm suposed to be playing tonight, on a mate's SSL set-up. As I'm a Traktor fanboy, I have absolutly zero SSL experience, and a phase meter is a nice comfort blanket if things go wrong! (I've heard that the venue's acoustics make it hard to beatmatch)

    Quote Originally Posted by Audeo View Post
    Using your analogy, I couldn't be bothered to explain this further.. But hey, just keep putting in that little extra effort to achieve things!
    Haha, thanks Audeo!
    Dell Studio XPS 1645 | TSP 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Audio 6 | HDJ-1000 | Alto PAM5A

  5. #5
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,742

    Default

    You'll have to do it by ear at first. I suggest practicing only in headphones for a bit…the S4 is perfectly capable of that.

    The transient detection is a bit weird…it shows a lot of what's going on, so if the drum hits aren't perfectly clean (i.e., coinciding with bass notes or basically anything with a sharp attack) the transient looks wider than it should. But that just means you have to pay attention to what you're doing and learn how it shows things. It's not bad at all once you get used to it.

    <Insert obvious claim about doing everything by ear here.>

    But, it is possible to beat match SSL without headphones if you're used to the way it shows transients. And it's at least as accurate as vinyl is, so……whatever.

    Also, you'll probably like one of the horizontal views better than the default if you're coming from traktor. There are butons to change it…I think in the top left hand corner. IDK, I just set the one I liked and never bothered changing. If it's distracting and you want to go back to doing everything by ear, there's a setting that only shows overview waveforms…kinda like the Micro view on Traktor.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor jezalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Cheers Mostapha

    I agree with you on doing it by ear, but I've been told the venue has some bad acoustics around the booth, and I'm mixing funk, not the usual house. If it was House, I'd have no problems, but the beats don't stand out as much in the funk I own.

    Ahh well, I'll let you know how it goes - worst comes to worst I can always mix in the breakdown.

    Thanks!
    Dell Studio XPS 1645 | TSP 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Audio 6 | HDJ-1000 | Alto PAM5A

  7. #7
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,742

    Default

    Good luck.

    Also, learn how to mix in IEMs. Then, even if you don't prefer it, if you've got them with you, you don't have to worry about monitors/acoustics as much.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor jezalenko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Thanks for your help guys, it's appreciated.

    Gig went well, turns out I was playing on my mate's NS6 running Itch. Not what I expected, as I was trying to get used to Itch and the NS6 whilst playing a set!
    Dell Studio XPS 1645 | TSP 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Audio 6 | HDJ-1000 | Alto PAM5A

  9. #9
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,742

    Default

    Oh, weird. At least it went well.

  10. #10

    Default

    Am I the only one that uses cue combined to hear both tracks through the cans? It makes relying on venue acoustics not an issue I've mixed like this for so long I can't even begin to tell ya how nice it is

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •