Adding bass to a PA system?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default Adding bass to a PA system?

    Hi, this is my first post here. I'm using two old Behringer PA speakers with an old powered mixer to DJ with. They get the job done, but they don't have any bass, which makes genres like dubstep pretty much impossible to do. Could I connect my home theatre mixer to the setup and just use the sub from it in addition to the PA speakers? Or am I going to have to buy a sub specific for PA setups?

    Any help is appreciated!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    324

    Default

    I'm confused, are you going to be connecting the mixer to your home theater and then just using that? Or are you trying to use everything at once?

    Regardless, it doesn't sound like a good idea, and if you're not sure of what you're doing you can very easily fry something. Home theater equipment is generally not as durable and uses lower wattage than PA gear. If you were to somehow connect your sub from your home theater, I'd be very careful as well. Research the specs on the sub thoroughly before trying anything, because just plugging in cables can smoke something if you don't know what you're doing.

    Personally, I'd invest in a powered subwoofer, as it will most likely sound a lot better and pose less potential danger to your wallet
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | 2x Stanton ST-150 Turntables | Traktor Kontrol F1 | MacBook

    www.mixcloud.com/sunshineraleigh

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor sparkbro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Sunshine View Post
    Personally, I'd invest in a powered subwoofer, as it will most likely sound a lot better and pose less potential danger to your wallet
    This.
    “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." Mitchell Kapor
    Setup: TP2 - Vestax Typhoon - Korg NanoPad - Windows 7 x64 - Sony Vaio (Deceased) - Acer Aspire Timeline.
    House Parties - 2x12" Titan Audio PA's, 1xBehringer B1500D Sub

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Sunshine View Post
    I'm confused, are you going to be connecting the mixer to your home theater and then just using that? Or are you trying to use everything at once?
    Sorry, I didn't explain it very well...my DJ controller has two audio outs built in. I was thinking I could run one audio out to a mixer which controls my two PA speakers, and the other audio out to a separate mixer that controls my home theatre, and only hook up the subwoofer. That way I wouldn't have to buy anything more (I'm pretty short on money at the moment.)

    If coughed up enough money for a powered sub, would it plug directly into my mixer just like the PA speakers? Or would I need to buy something extra?

  5. #5
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    So did you try it?
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Yes your idea would work, connecting each audio out to a different receiver.

    and to answer your second question it depends on the subwoofer, I know some subwoofer you plug into the mixer and then the speakers into the sub. you will just have to research before you buy it.
    13" Core I7 MBP - Kontrol S4 - Midi Fighter - RP-DJ1200 - BX8a

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    324

    Default

    On mine I plug the main outputs from my mixer into the sub, and then from the Hi-Pass out on the sub into the power amplifier that runs the mains. Kind of a weird setup, but it works. See if you can find one that you can power your main speakers off of, it makes setup a lot easier.
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | 2x Stanton ST-150 Turntables | Traktor Kontrol F1 | MacBook

    www.mixcloud.com/sunshineraleigh

  8. #8
    Tech Guru belchman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    554

    Default

    are you handy with a soldering iron and a bench saw?

    http://speakerplans.com/index.php?id=plans

  9. #9
    Tech Guru sobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,129

    Default

    A bigger question... why not just run into your home theater system and skip the pa and use the component speakers? If it's a smaller system, disregard that question and don't use the sub from that. Go get a real sub to match the bigger PA.

  10. #10

    Default

    Being the noob I am, I don't know how to include multiple quotes in my post, so I'll just reply by names:

    Sir Real- Yes, I tried it today. It sounded decent at low volumes but the PA speakers overpowered the home theatre once I got into actual volumes that would be used live.

    Sobi- The home theatre really doesn't provide enough volume, and even if it did, it would probably mess it up running it at max volume for 4 hours. I messed with the EQ on my mixer and got a little more (albeit crunchy) bass out of my PA speakers. I might spring for a real sub if I can dig up some money or something.

    Thanks for all of the help guys.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •