X1 Mapping Please.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    804

    Default X1 Mapping Please.

    Hi Guys,

    So our techtools amigo Haze convinced me to buy his old SSL box and of course I caved. I am going to try and set it up tonight and would like to use my X1. I am using a Windows 7 machine and I'll work out LED support later. Right now I'd just like something that works well. Please share if you have any cool mappings.

    Thanks!

    PS: My S4 is extremely sad.
    :: Kontrol Z2 :: :: Technics 1200 :: :: Pioneer DJM 250 :: Kontrol X1 MkII :: :: Maschine :: :: Kontrol S4 ::

  2. #2
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    just a though has you messed around with the LED in the control editor?
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    804

    Default

    JesC, I haven't yet, but once I have a solid mapping I'll give it a shot. I've gotta' say man, Serato is super fun. Forcing yourself to mix and not press sync really helps with stress relief. There is nothing like jumping on the decks for a 1/2 an hour to clear you mind. With the S4 I find myself wanting to make it better instead of playing music. Simple is better in this case. I even mapped pitch control to the X1 so I can mix on internal mode.

    JesC, are you using any controllers? Right now I have available to me: Dicers, x1, maschine & a midifighter. It's def time to sell some stuff!
    :: Kontrol Z2 :: :: Technics 1200 :: :: Pioneer DJM 250 :: Kontrol X1 MkII :: :: Maschine :: :: Kontrol S4 ::

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    137

    Default

    SSL is actually very easy to map yourself. Ive mapped both SSl and tracktor, and serato is just so much easier. If you want a good map just do it yourself that way you can have it exactly how you want it. If you rather just use somebody elses give the one NI provides a try, its a pretty good one.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Isn't there a default map in the Controller Editor s/w for Serato and an X1?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbeatzz View Post
    Simple is better in this case.
    Truth right there. There's something fundamentally relaxing about stepping up to the decks and matching two songs together with spinning vinyl. Hard to describe the feeling to people who haven't experienced it.


    I personally use the Dicers myself with Serato (and they do a great job for what they do). But I've recently been mapping my MPKmini (which is basically the same as an LPD8 with a keyboard) to help control FX through Serato as well. Something to think about messing around with a bit if you wanted, and I imagine you could do much the same functionality with a machine (even though it may be overkill).

    Fun stuff though
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    62

    Default

    i originally used Konix's or Kronix's off of youtube. just put in X1 Kontroller Serato and he should come up, think its about 3 vids long. he's a Serato tech guy and was also really helpful on their forums. ive managed to get it exactly how i want it now, and is a definately an essential piece of kit for me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •