Benefits of External Sound Card vs Laptop's Internal
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Benefits of External Sound Card vs Laptop's Internal

So I'm just getting into DJing and have a Mixtrack, a good pair of headphones, and a cheap $5 sound card for monitoring/cueing. So far as I've just been practicing, I've used my Macbook Pro's headphone jack as the output (connected to speakers) and the cheap $5 USB sound card to monitor w/my headphones.

I'm about to purchase Traktor Pro 2 and noticed that if I buy the Traktor Audio 2 sound card I can get Traktor Pro 2.5 for free. (Traktor is now $89; the Audio 2 is $119, so I could essentially get the Audio 2 for $30 extra!).

My question is: Would my Macbook's internal sound card and 3.5mm headphone jack be enough to power larger speakers for future gigs? Is there a reason (besides headphone cueing since I already have that) that I should invest in the Traktor Audio 2?

Thanks!
    Last edited by mvizzion; 04-11-2012 at 09:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mvizzion
    My question is: Would my Macbook's internal sound card and 3.5mm headphone jack be enough to power larger speakers for future gigs?
    Yes. Your MacBook's soundcard is outputting a line-level audio signal just like an iPod/CDJ/Turntable. You can plug it into a mixer or amp and it will work.

Quote Originally Posted by mvizzion
    Is there a reason (besides headphone cueing since I already have that) that I should invest in the Traktor Audio 2?
    Using the Traktor Audio 2 would be a more robust solution for playing live. The 3.5mm headphone jack on your MacBook is fragile, if you bump it while using your laptop you could knock it out of the socket (clearing the dancefloor with a huge buzzing sound) or break it. The Audio 2 has bigger 1/4" jacks and lets you put the sound card out of harm's way.

Feature wise, you wouldn't be getting anything more, but when it comes to playing live gigs, reliability and simplicity are key for your setup.