Audio 6 or Audio 10?
    Tech Convert

Default Audio 6 or Audio 10?

Hi all!

So, I'm a bit confused and would really appreciate if somebody gave me some simple advice about this.

I've been DJing using CDJs for many years but I'm now interested in timecode CDs so I don't have to burn a bunch of CDs before every gig. So I want to buy a Traktor Scratch bundle, either the Audio 6 or the Audio 10.

I want to DJ using 2 CDJs with timecode for now. Later on I will probably be interested in adding a Kontrol X1 to the setup too.

So with my demands - is the Audio 6 enough?

Or to put it this way: In which case would I need the Audio 10 for example?

Audio 6.

As a CDJ user the audio6 will allow 3 decks of timecode CDs (or 2 decks + samples + recording).

The Audio10 is only advantageous if you wish to use more than this and even then I would recommend buying a second hand audio8 instead(sadly not in production any more). Why? Because the audio10 is not bus powered, it requires it's own separate power supply which is my eyes is a *huge* disadvantage.

What midi controller you wish to use has no effect on what soundcard you should use so don't worry about the X1!

I hope that helps.
    Last edited by MrPopinjay; 05-04-2012 at 08:17 PM.
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

Tech Convert

Thanks man. I really appreciate the info.

However, another guy told me that I need Audio 10 if wanting to use X1 for additional decks. Maybe a stupid question but let me ask again: I want to use two CDJs with timecode discs and a Macbook Pro running TSP. Plus I'd like to use an X1 in the future to search tracks and play some loops/samples from a 3rd deck in TSP. Can the Audio 6 handle that? Is there really enough audio in/outs?

Really appreciate the help!