Good brand of paint for painting dj equipment
    Tech Student

Default Good brand of paint for painting dj equipment

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the who dj tech modding, so I want to start simple. I've never done it before so I want to start simple by painting some of my equipment. I don't want to ruin it either, and I want it to look good so I was wondering from your guys experience, what is a good kind of paint to get to use?

If this is for turntables and if you wan't to do a good job that will last years use automotive 2pac paint with a spray gun, paint in a can is air drying acrylic... It will only last a year or so if you prepare everything properly and quality of the spray is terrible as you cant easily manage the patchy air pressure of the can, and how thin the paint is, so you will end up with a job thats doth dry and runny, and forget buffing it to fix it.

If it's a one time job prepare and prime everything yourself then take it into an auto repair shop and get it done properly, it shouldn't cost much more than $100 for a basic color or metallic...

If this is something you will be looking at doing regularly you should invest in a small compressor and a small hobby gun if your going to use clearcoat, or a larger gut if your using enamel (solid color), it will probably cost $150 for decent enough gear...

For paint I used to love "DuPont" as it sprayed the best, it's hard wearing and has good coverage, "spartin" was always too thin for me... if you want wow factor of pearls, candy's and prism "color shift" paint you can't go past "House of Kolor".

If it's for a controller anything will do as they don't demand a propper job like technics do and you will probably replace the thing before the paint is a problem.

I have never painted turntables but 1000's of cars & motorbikes professionally... even a fridge once lol
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

Tech Mentor