Should I be scared of the new DJ's? What should I do to stand out from the others?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Should I be scared of the new DJ's? What should I do to stand out from the others?

I'm fairly new to the DJTT community and far away from the USA, so I don't know how you guys see this or the EU guys see this too, but...

I always loved music. Every bit and kind of music. So, when I sold my e-drum kit (still trying to sell my acoustic kit) to buy my S4, it felt a natural move. I was studying how to handle a CDJ and a mixer, how to mix with a great DJ in my town. Really enjoying beatmatching house, hip hop and brazilian funk songs. Every saturday, at the DJ classes, was a blast.

I left out in the middle of the way, when I bought the controller and started practising at home. Listened to more songs, falling in love with deep and prog and so on (and a secret love with moombahton). Even went to a workshop with, my main inspiration, Ean Golden.

I look back at october of last year, when I dropped out of the DJ classes and start practising and getting a few gigs. I look back when I played to 1500 people and see how I still got better and better and how there is a lot to learn and shape.

But last week I saw one photo of a guy with a S2 on facebook. And this freaked me out. I don't know if he knows how to mix a song, even if he knows what a breakdown and build-up is. But this shooked me up, up to 30 people liked his photo and left comments like "let's see you at your next gig", "lets rock" "i want to listen to you".

His S2 arrived that day. So I started to think: should I be afraid of this? Everyone who can buy some midi controller and set up a software and started playing? Yes. I was at his position months ago (but only my girlfriend helped me ). And the audience don't see a difference. They can't tell if a set is recorded and so on.