From Pro to Scratch Pro
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Flaekiface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    443

    Default From Pro to Scratch Pro

    Right now I own Traktor Pro and have it registered. I am think about buying a used copy of Traktor 3 scratch and then upgrading it to Scratch Pro.
    How would that turn out? I guess I would end up with a copy of both Traktor Pro and Traktor Scratch Pro on my computer or what?

    Any recomendations?

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Do you have the Audio8?
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Krome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern Germany
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Traktor Pro and Traktor Scratch Pro run out of the same executeable, so you'll end up with a TSP only (assuming you don't install the T3 you're planning to get as well ). Again, it all comes down to if you have the HW for it (A8DJ or a "certified" mixer).
    Personally, I went the Traktor Pro upgrade route, which got me the A8DJ, the timecode vinyl and the cable where you're always short of enough mixer segments Minus some small quirks on the A8DJ (headphone connection shaky, rca connection to deep in the casing for some larger cables, slightly inferior sound to my previous Edirol), it's a pretty good and satisfying package

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Flaekiface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    443

    Default

    I do not have any of the hardware. I just figured that it was cheaper to by a used Traktor 3 scratch, and use the hardware from that set, and then upgrade my Traktor Pro to Scratch.

  5. #5
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    It might easier to get a used Audio8 and just upgrade directly. The upgrade to Traktor Scratch requires the Audio8DJ, though now you might be able to do it with the Audio4.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    If your getting a good bargain on the Traktor Scratch package (inc Audio 8,timecode,mulitcores) then thats a good cheap way of upgrading to TSP.
    How much are you paying for that package.


    Krome is correct you cant have 2 versions of the current Traktor on one machine IE: TP and TSP.

    [MASSIVE EDIT]

    Scrap what i just wrote. Ive got a better solution.

    Keep Traktor Pro exactly the way it is.

    Install Traktor Scratch. Register it and activate it in Service Center.

    Then in Service Center enter the new TSP Serial Number that you will recieve with your TSP download where your old Traktor Pro Serial Number is and it will change your Traktor Pro to Traktor Scratch Pro.

    Everything will be the same as before. You will have TSP with all your collection and tsi and settings in tact.


    I new there was a better way.

    Phew...!
    Last edited by Karlos Santos; 05-28-2009 at 11:26 AM.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Flaekiface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Ok Karlos, so you suggest that I buy the old TS, install it and the buy a "software only" upgrade from TP to TSP?

    Why not just do as Devils suggesting, buying the Audio 8 and then the upgrade from TP to TSP?

  8. #8

    Default

    there is no software only upgrade from traktor pro to scratch pro

    if there is can someone show me it?

    I thought you could only do a certified mixer upgrade which is still about 300 euros I'm sure this is a bit steep just to switch timecode on and get timecode vinyl etc ..

    Gav
    M I S T E R M O L E Y M O L E
    part of the digital revolution

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Flaekiface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Oh so the software upgrade is only from TS to TSP and not TP to TSP. I see.

  10. #10

    Default

    thinkso ... may be wrong.

    But i made the mistake of buying a cheap audio 8 and timecode seperately thinking i could upgrade from the demo version at some point and do it all gradually meaning less of an all at once outgoing !

    Couldnt believe it when i found that you couldnt do a software only upgrade from le or Pro basically i have to but timecode etc all again with a certified mixer package which is 300euros i think.

    Scandelous

    LE - Pro is 99Euros i think
    Pro - Scratch Pro 300 euros (just to turn on timecode)

    Cant afford it at all at the min

    Expensive hobby this djin malarkey when your not doing it to make money !
    M I S T E R M O L E Y M O L E
    part of the digital revolution

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •