VCI-100 Midi customizing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    16

    Default VCI-100 Midi customizing

    So everytime Ean comes out with a new video or tutorial on some cool thing that the SE does or that he can do with his customized VCI, I try to replicate it with my stock VCI-100. So far I've got something like this..

    Page 1 - Original VCI-100 controls

    Page 2
    - Fx on jog wheels and volume faders, everything else the same

    Page 3 - 6 Cue points on each deck, volume fader fx, and the rest the same

    Page 4 - Original VCI-100 controls but running decks C and D in Traktor

    Anyone else working on perfecting their own MIDI setup? Any ideas or hints onto what works best for switching pages or whatever?

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard shedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cairns, Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default

    could you post your .tks file

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I will for sure as soon as i finish perfecting it. probably sometime this weekend or next week i will

  4. #4
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    First up great job, i am interested in checking out your mappings

    My advice would be to forget Traktor pages and use Bomes midi pro and its presets - which are basically Traktor pages on steroids. I personally use only a single Traktor page without compromising at all on functionality(quite the opposite actually).

    If you take the time to really nut out the program while always thinking to yourself "whats the easiest way to achieve something without compromising on functionality" your speed at creating these midi presets will increase and so will their power

  5. #5
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    I'm really looking forward to your .tks-file but as of now, I've got a problem with midi-pages inside of Traktor.

    To switch to a midi-page I creat a hotkey but the only control-type I can choose from is "Hold" so I have to hold my hotkey to activate and control the effect.
    I rather want to press the hotkey, then all I do will be in midi-page 2,3 or 4 and if I press another button again it should switch back to midi-page 1.

    Otherwise it is really hard to do the Jog-Wheel FX thing (hold a button on the keyboard + play with the jog-wheel + modify the effect via pitch-fader + do other random stuff = 1 arm too few)

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alim Doener View Post
    I'm really looking forward to your .tks-file but as of now, I've got a problem with midi-pages inside of Traktor.

    To switch to a midi-page I creat a hotkey but the only control-type I can choose from is "Hold" so I have to hold my hotkey to activate and control the effect.
    I rather want to press the hotkey, then all I do will be in midi-page 2,3 or 4 and if I press another button again it should switch back to midi-page 1.

    Otherwise it is really hard to do the Jog-Wheel FX thing (hold a button on the keyboard + play with the jog-wheel + modify the effect via pitch-fader + do other random stuff = 1 arm too few)
    I have my page switches set up on the balance knobs, for instance, if both Deck A and Deck B are set to balance left, it will be page one. Then if even the slightest turn to the right of Deck A's balance knob will engage and hold page 2 until i turn it back to the left. Deck B's will do the same except for Page 3. Of course, i lose the control of balance for my mix, but i never really used it as much as i use the different pages now. As for that Page 4 with Decks C and D, I will probably put it on the monitor select pot on the top right.

    I'm not sure if this is the best way to accomplish staying on a page, but its working for me so far...
    VCI-100
    Stanton T.90
    Behringer Eurorack UB1202
    Black MacBook with OSx 10.5.2

  7. #7
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    To switch pages using a hold action you have to manually change the assigment in the TKS using a text or XML editor. Its possible but not in traktor, please post that TKS would love to share it with people. :-)

  8. #8
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Just as a note, I was setting my pages to "toggle" in my notepad and on page 4 things just went to crap and I got wicked bad MIDI feedback. Not everyone has this problem, but I'm not the only one.

    Right now I only use two MIDI pages, thanks for my multitude of gear. Page 1 is decks A&B, inner jog wheel controls effects, pitch fader controls effect knob 2, padkontrol 1 controls deck A and 2 controls Deck B cues 1-6, has cue/pause and cue/play, sync toggle, pitch up and down... I had pitch bend but for some reason my PK 2 was sending random messages while I was spinning and holding the pitch down button. I dunno why. so in the interest of expediency I just took it off. Will probably replace with beat jump or something. :-)

    I use a footswitch to change MIDI pages (best way for me) to switch everything to control Decks C&D. Oh, and the loop buttons have changed. Top white button duplicates Deck A to C and reverse on page 1 and 2 respectively, button button duplicated B to D and reverse respectively. Bottom two black buttons change loop length up and down, can't remember what the top two do, but I'll probably be changing them soon :-)
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard shedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cairns, Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default

    could you please post this .tks file

  10. #10
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,004

    Default

    LoLz... I do not have to switch pages, I just switch presets with my controller.



    By the way, who's that problem coming along now DA? Still no clue, or did it had to deal with some crazy interface mixups of traktor and bomes?
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •