looking at macbook core 2 duo unibody
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Guru brian_johnstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    696

    Default looking at macbook core 2 duo unibody

    hi guys, a little advice if you can, im looking at a macbook unibody, core 2 duo, obviously id rather have a pro, but this is within budget and ive had about enough of my win 7 machine.

    its the A1278 model, my questions are.. what's the max ram it can take and is the processor upgradable to the core 2 quad of the same socket??

    any help appreciated as always,

    Brian.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,713

    Default

    You can't upgrade the CPU on the MB lines. RAM can have a max of 16GB, I believe (it might be 8GB). You can also upgrade the HDD and there's a mod to replace the CD with another HDD as well.

    Honestly, you won't need more than 8GB, and to be honest for 95% of use, 4GB is plenty. You may need more if you are into hardcore production or syncing devices.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    8GB is the max for that model.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru brian_johnstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    696

    Default

    cool thats what i was hoping.. i already have a drive bay adaptor in my windows laptop, so would just transfer that straight over, and also throw my ssd in there too, i do also run ableton so i would probably just put in 8gb ram because i can, and because i have some lying around from an older laptop (at least i believe its the right spec, ill check when i can find it) shame about the cpu, but nevermind, ill keep hold of my windows, and if the mac's no good to me ill sell it on and wait till i can afford the pro.....

    cheers for the help peeps

  5. #5
    Tech Guru MaxOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,920

    Default

    Ssd will make the real difference
    CLUB OF JACKS - RELEASES >>TRAXSOURCE
    Club of Jacks are a London based House & Garage production / DJ duo with releases on a number of underground labels including Plastik People Recordings, Blockhead Recordings, Hi Energy!, Pocket Jacks Trax, Soul Revolution Records and their own Club of Jacks imprint.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    714

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    8GB is the max for that model.
    according to apple it is however it will happily take 16 gig

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Lecko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England/Midlands
    Posts
    511

    Default

    I had the aluminum unibody macbook, was my work horse for 3 and a half years, it finished with and SSD and 4GB RAM before I upgraded but it ran faultless before I sold it earlier this year, only thing that let it down was no back-lit keyboard
    MacBook Pro 15" 2.0GHZ i7. Kontrol S4. Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5. MidiFighter Classic. Aiaiai TMA-1.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru brian_johnstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    696

    Default

    @maxone- i couldnt use a computer without an ssd now lol

    @tombruton- ill find out for sure and if it does accept it, it'll get 16gb, probably never use that much but better to just be there

    @lecko- thats really good to hear, backlit keyboard isnt an issue really... it'd be nice but it's not really world ending, im sure i can live without it

  9. #9
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    i used to have one,and never had a problem running traktor,ableton etc....

    was a real workhorse

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •