Using a Laptop + Controller as EFFECTOR
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5

    Default Using a Laptop + Controller as EFFECTOR

    Hi mates !

    Here is my current configuration :

    VESTAX PMC 280
    2X CDJ-800 MK2
    2X TECHNICS SL1210 MK2 (but I am only going to use ONE)

    And I also got :
    1X ACER ASPIRE 6920G LAPTOP (Vista)
    1X Hercules RMX Controller (with Hercules Soundcard)

    The Vestax PMC 280 sound quality is AMAZING (sounds better than on the pioneer DJM800 i used) but I am not enjoying the effector... That's why I planed to buy a Pioneer EFX-500 or 1000...
    But after a car crash, my budget is fucked up and I am not able to spend any money in my DJ stuff at the moment :>

    Some people told me there are some VST (free or not, i don't care) that can be hosted on a freeware (or even on Reason / Ableton) are really great! I would like to use my Laptop & my RMX (as midi controller & maybe sound card) as an EFFECTOR !

    Can anyone help with this or give me some feedbacks ?

    Thanks you !

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    You can't host VSTs in Reason. Just as a heads up.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Okay but it works on Ableton, right ? You didn't really anwer my question mate

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor CerebralExcretion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Not sure i quite understand the question but if you want to use your laptop as a midi controlable effects unit yes Ableton will work very well, i would recomend kvraudio as probably the best online recourse for free vst's but thie is probably everything you need already build into ableton just download the demo and have a play you'll see what i mean.

    http://www.kvraudio.com/

  5. #5
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    get a soundcard with enough inputs for all your gear and run it all though Ableton, routing the different inputs onto different channels within the software.

    You can then output the audio to a multiple channel mixer or you can use a midi controller and mix internally inside of the software.

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5

    Default

    So i'll have to put my turntable and my CDJ's on the soundcard ? I had in mind to use the RMX soundcard but that will decrease the sound quality of the Vestax mixer tough =(

    I've no money to get a new soundcard currently, that's why I was trying to find a solution with my current hardware configuration ...

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor CerebralExcretion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    103

    Default

    If your on that tight a budget you could try running the output from your mixer into the line in on your laptop soundcard run this as a single effects channel in ableton then plug your soundcard output into speakers/amp. But this would be far from ideal but might give you a taste for how it all works till you can get some cash together.

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Shouldn't I use the Hercules soundcard instead of my laptop soundcard?

  9. #9
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magmax View Post
    Shouldn't I use the Hercules soundcard instead of my laptop soundcard?
    Yes you should

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5

    Default

    And won't this make me lose some sound quality ? Cause I bought the Vestax mixer mostly cause of the great sound quality and I don't want it to be decreased by the RMX soundcard ;o

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •