How do I become an authorized pro audio dealer, and are there any tips?

Default How do I become an authorized pro audio dealer, and are there any tips?

After spending so many countless hours looking at audio gear and DJ gear, it only seemed natural that I should consider how to sell this stuff myself?...So has anyone done this? I'm thinking of opening a virtual store, or possibly an actual store so I'm looking for any input.

Two things you need just to think about starting up, a business plan and capital.

Quote Originally Posted by VanGogo View Post
    Two things you need just to think about starting up, a business plan and capital.
    The business plan is the easy part. First I need to find someone who will act as a viable mentor (or at least anaswer a few questions) so I can first quantify whether or not this is something I can be prosperous in.

I've been working for an event production company for several years, and we recently became dealers for a few companies. The first things our distributor looked at was if they already had a rep in our area, and if there was a potential client base here. Then they had to make sure we were a legit business, and had all the necessary permits, and had a showroom and/or means of selling their products.

Trying to open an online store won't make you a lot of money. There is a minimum price you are allowed to charge, so you can't really undercut the big stores and will therefore eventually lose out to their superior marketing and established reputations. An actual storefront can bring you money, but you need the capital to buy your merchandise up front. If you're just looking for some really good deals, I can say from experience that you can usually find deals on ebay that are as good as dealer prices. Being a dealer is only a good deal when you need to buy in quantity, or have paying clients lined up.