HELP NEEDED: New HP i7 Laptop vs Old macbook air ?

Default HELP NEEDED: New HP i7 Laptop vs Old macbook air ?

Hi everyone, I am new to dj'ing and am just starting to get into the whole dj scene. Im trying to get a new laptop that I would be able to start my dj career so this first purchase is going to be really important for me. That is why Im hoping anyone with more experience using Macs and Windows for Dj'ing will be able to help me out a little on this decision.

For $850 I can either buy:

a new 15" HP laptop with a new ivy bridge core i7 processor, 8gb of ram, and a 750 gb hard drive
    OR
    a refurbished macbook 11" air with a core i5 processor, 128gb SSD, and 4gb of ram.

Im not trying to start a flame war over operating systems, Im just trying to figure out given the SPECIFIC technical specifications of each product, which would be a better purchase for my money, considering relevant factors like potential computing capabilities, most intuitive interface, better compatibility with dj software, reliability, etc. This is while keeping in mind that I will be using this for bedroom and mobile dj'ing (though I would like the laptop to last for a while..) and possible ventures into music production with software such as Ableton Live.

All comments and insights are appreciated. Thanks!

Also, I could downgrade both options to a cheaper price.

I could get the year older 2010 macbook air w/ the core 2 duo processor, 128gb SSD, and 4gb ram
    or
    the same hp laptop with reduced battery life (9 cell dropped to 6 cell) with a slower 5400rpm processor
    both for around $760