So, about all those DOWNLOAD MY TRACK FOR FREE NOW! Facebook/Twitter updates
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default So, about all those DOWNLOAD MY TRACK FOR FREE NOW! Facebook/Twitter updates

At some point in the not too distant future I intend to begin producing. I have been dabbling in it on and off for 15 years and while it will never be my full time job, it's something I am going to take more seriously going forward.

So let's say that I create this amazing track, fit for dancefloors across the globe. I then offer it out as a free download and get a few people downloading and playing it. How does this affect getting it signed?

My questions are:

• Do labels shy away from tracks that are already essentially in the public domain?
    • Are free tracks good promotional activity or do they just underline the "you get what you pay for" attitude?

If you offer you offer up free downloads of your tracks
    • Why do you do it?
    • What kid of download counts do you get on individual tracks?
    • Has a free download led to you being signed? If so, by what kind of label?

If you don't offer free downloads - why don't you?

Sensible discussion please. let's talk about YOUR experiences, not someone you know or a DJ/producer you love or hate.
    Beats By Dre is like audio flu for your balls.

For what's it's worth there are some labels that won't accept submissions of tracks that are publicly available anywhere (free download or not).

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

I never had issues with full tracks posted in soundcloud, downloads disabled of course. Why disable them? It's a direct hit on your sales and an automatic ignore for labels on unsigned material (why should they bother getting the exclusivity of selling it if people can get it for free?).
    I do hand them out as white labels to a handful of people pre release tho and tend to enable dowloads for short periods on tracks that have been out for a while.