Speakers vs Monitors?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Speakers vs Monitors?

I am just getting into the DJ scene as a sophomore at San Francisco State University. I went with the Numark mixtrack as my controller with the Numark Dj Io souncard. The only item I need now is a set of speakers. However I am not sure if I should go with something like a sony hi-fi speaker system, or some cool monitors like the krk rockits. I need something that will be loud enough for me to use at parties with a usual occupancy of 20-50 people since most SF/ Daly city homes are small but also something compact for my home usage. Another issue is that being a college student makes my budget vert tight to around $200. Ive been told that 1 rockit is able to fill up a small living room. But I am leaning towards getting two incase I end up being in a garage with more space. Any advice or comments would be highly appreciated. Also if I do end up getting two krk rockits is it necessary to buy an extra subwoofer?
    Last edited by marcushhh; 07-02-2012 at 08:22 PM.

Depending on how loud those 50 people are, neither of aforementioned setups you mentioned will be adequate. Unless of course you're talking about a Sony receiver combined with some full range speakers. But if you're talking about a bookshelf system, you're better of renting speakers for house parties.

Tech Convert

I don't have money to just rent pa system like that any time I want to DJ a party. But is it possible to two krk rockits to handle at least 30-40?

Quote Originally Posted by marcushhh View Post
    I don't have money to just rent pa system like that any time I want to DJ a party. But is it possible to two krk rockits to handle at least 30-40?
    I'm not sure about where you live, but around here even the smallest KRK Rockit costs almost $200/each.