digital cueing
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: digital cueing

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default digital cueing

    Once again sorry for the silly question, but i only have experience with cdj decks and digital djing is all very exciting but at the same time so confusing.

    how is the cuing done using midi controllers? i see on the vci100 there is a cue button, but not on an allan and heath xone 1d. do djs cue their songs before their set on the software? i guess you can map that function to any button on the xone but is that how it is really done? i dont see hawtin tappin a cue button when he performs...

    Thanks again.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default

    if ur using the A&H xone 1D im asuming you are using auto-sync yes?

    in that case there is no 'real' need to use the cue button in that way.

    but if u want/need to just assign a button to Cue
    fart.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default

    hey i actually dont have any digital equipment yet, just looking into it (pondering to buy a vci100 or a used mixer and a 1d or 2d). so how does this auto sync work? obviously it matches the bpm but do you plan before your set when the song is supposed to come in? you dont actually hit a cue button?

    Thanks for the reply.

  4. #4
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Cueing digitally works the same as normal gear - you just need a soundcard to connect to.

    Unless of course your doing something a bit more outlandish and using my SmartCueing concept - http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/06/0...p-for-ableton/
    More on that on friday.

    As for autosync, open up the FAQ and read the Traktor Pro beatgridding tutorial - that will explain all the aspects of auto sync you need to know to get started. The link to the FAQ is in my signiture, theres a ton of links to really good information in there to get you off to a flying start

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BentoSan View Post
    Cueing digitally works the same as normal gear - you just need a soundcard to connect to.
    ...so when your bringing a new song in you "physically" hit a button on the controller yeah? or do you set up the beatgrid, mark the cue point before hand, and let traktor bring it in at that point (sorry your gonna have to take me back to basics lol).

  6. #6
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Assuming you are not using any automixing functions...

    You "prepare" your songs by setting grids and cue points. This allows you to sync for auto-beatmatching, and to see where the sections break down, or for you to have pre-set cue juggling.

    You physically press a button to allow yourself to hear the song through your headphones. You can select your opening cue point, check your levels, all of it.

    And you physically hit play, and physically move your crossfader and volume fader to mix your songs.

    Or, you make buttons to do it all for you. But, realistically, you can do it all yourself, almost exactly like on decks.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Thank you :-)

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    or pay someone to do it for you
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •