Ableton vs. FL Studio...
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Ableton vs. FL Studio...

Hey fam! I've been DJing for a bit over 2 years now and, naturally, I want to progress into production.

As some of you may know, FL Studio is on sale for 40% off right now (I think).

I've heard a number of different things when it comes to production...

Most of what I've heard is that Ableton is the most difficult to learn, but is the most rewarding in the long run.
    I've also heard that it's not the DAW, but the person using it blah blah blah. I want to get your opinions.

Long story is... I'm broke. FL Studio is the easier and more viable option for me right now as I want to get into it asap. I'm not one for torrenting programs, otherwise I would grab a copy of Ableton and test it out myself.

Which famous producers these days are using FL Studio?

Discuss!

Thanks guys!
    MAKE SMILES
    ACER Aspire 5755 | TP 2 | MIXED IN KEY | S4 mk2 | LPD8 | MDR-V700 | ODYSSEY L STAND
    SOUNDCLOUD | FACEBOOK| TWITTER

I don't know if 'famous producers using XYX' is exactly a productive way to select a DAW. They might have a totally crazy workflow you hate and thus selecting a specific DAW might not be productive. Let's say you just love Fatboy Slim so you need to get an Atari ST from 1987... *)

Let's ask this around, what do you want to do, produce?

*) Actually Fatboy Slim is now using Ableton Live.

I didn't say "if they're using this I'll use this," lol. I was just simply curious who is using FL Studio. It's quite obvious that most producers these days are using Ableton - and naturally, people want to use what's best.

Yes, I want to start production. Not based on anyone. Just because it's time to grow my career.

My issue is I want to start now, but can't afford Ableton. I'm worried if I grab FL Studio, I'll be wanting to switch to Ableton later - and am concerned about purchasing FL Studio would be a waste of money.
    MAKE SMILES