Just bought ALLEN HEATH DB2 - advise needed for noob!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Just bought ALLEN HEATH DB2 - advise needed for noob!

My DB2 is awesome I'm currently using it alongside my CDJ 1000mk3s however I am looking at selling these and wanting to start to utilise traktor. However I have never used any kind of software in my dj setup. I love the idea of having all my music in front of me in a clear interface and all I need is my mixer and laptop.

However as I'm a total noob to software side of things I want to know the following:

Can I use traktor to simply replace my cd decks and retain all of the on board effects, tri modal eq and functionality of my mix? Can traktor be used simply to access and play songs as opposed to a cdj or will I loose the essence of my mixer and be forced to use software effects etc (I don't want that as its waste of mixer over £1k when a cheap controller can do the same).

I just want an easy way to replace my cd decks, I have considered going for a set of cdj2000 and record box which I could have as a library database however would still be stuck with large cd players, and for the cost £3k+ I could get traktor 2 and a MacBook pro. No need for sound card as the db2 has it's own right?

Please advise

Yes you can just run traktor through the db2 soundcard and use the db2 mixer and fxs. You will probably want some sort of controller in addition to the db2 for cueing and playing tracks (x1 or you can hook a k2 in).

You may find you don't like mixing on software- a lot of people go down that route and end up going back to cdj-2ks and couldn't be happier. Traktor is great but I find syncing tracks boring and it takes a bit of the fun out of djing. I would much rather use two CDJ2000s and my db4 than use traktor and controllers like I do now but I don't feel like spending the money on a pair.

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post