DJing in Parts (your "mixing" style)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default DJing in Parts (your "mixing" style)

http://www.beatportal.com/feed/item/...jing-in-parts/

I was reading this article (interview) with Speedy J about DJing "in parts" and it got me thinking. How many of us (you) DJ like this?

How many of you actually make use of the 4 decks and if you use them, how do you use them? (as loop players, playlist queues, effects, samples?)

Im relatively new to the world of Digital DJing and cotrollerism. The more I learn the more I realize the potential for new and amazing things. Not to mention...beginning to realize I can start doing things I've wanted to do for years very easily and very controlled.

For instance...if a mix in my head has an uninterrupted kick drum but the music limits me in this area I can always grab a track with a clean isolated kick I can loop (or for that matter create a custom taylored kick loop in Ableton, Reason, etc to import) on a 3rd deck while cutting the bass on deck A, mixing into deck B before that kick drops to create a seamless flow..........Im rambling I know but maybe you'll get the idea.

Back on topic. Im still learning to break bad habits of old limitations. I've not really got the point that my whole mixing style can change now. I've never really thought of "DJing" with many several part. I mean...I make sounds in my head like this but the physical medium at my disposal never really made it an easy possibility. This will be a learning experience for me. However, I think I will begin to do this much more (DJ in parts). We all have tracks that we've thought "mmmmmm....goooood shit.............................WAIT....FUCK...wh y did they have to go and screw it up with that vocal/cheesy riff/annoying synth part/long drawn out uneventful part/etc?!!!" Now we can usually still use the parts that strike us.

Do many of you DJ mostly in just parts? Any mixes available as a demo of this?
    http://soundcloud.com/rvltion909