Traktor 2.5.1 & Powered USB Hubs
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default Traktor 2.5.1 & Powered USB Hubs

    Hiya folks,

    In case you didn't know already, 2.5.1 kicks major ass. You now no longer need Scratch Pro to use the CDJ 900/2000 with Traktor. This is awesome, and I am now trollololololing everyone I know that ever bought the Scratch Pro upgrade so they could use CDJs, because timecode CDs have nowhere near the accuracy of the new HID support How do you guys feel about this? If I had to guess, we'll eventually see NI combine all of Traktor's features into one version, because this most recent upgrade makes Scratch Pro take a pretty big value hit. Anyways, I now presume that a lot more of us controllerists will start using CDJs in our setups whenever we have the chance, which brings me (and I'm sure a lot of other people now salivating at the prospect of using CDJs on the reg) to my next point:

    I normally run an S4 with a midi fighter, but most venues I play at have CDJ 900s/2000s. I now plan on including CDJs in my setup whenever I have the opportunity so I can constantly have full transport control of 4 decks; but alas, there are only two USB ports on my MacBook Pro. I now need a powered USB hub so I can take full advantage of the latest Traktor update. Anyone out there have any recommendations?

    Much

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor JohnnyDrama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Any self respecting CDJ2000/900 owner still has some wheels of steel besides those pioneers
    Old school vinyl & vinyl timecode FTW !
    If they don’t want to see the light…..just make them feel the beat…..

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    people on the dancefloor will notice it... but good news for those spending 2K for a simple & single deck MIDI/HID controller
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor TreTuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Tahoe
    Posts
    281

    Default

    Take a look at these.. http://usb-hub-review.toptenreviews.com/

    Personally, I actually use a non-powered hub in my setup. I run my interface on a solo port, then have a 4-port hub that powers my X1, F1, Maschine, and Dicers just fine. Though for my production setup I have the 7-port Cable Unlimited hub that is listed on that page, and it works great.
    Tre Tuna
    DJ and Recording and Mixing engineer for live and studio sound
    Traktor Pro 2.7.1 | MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz 4gigs ram
    Stanton STR8-150s | Ortofon Q-Bert Carts
    NI Z2, F1, Machine MK I, RigKontrol 3 | Dicers | PadKontrol

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    29

    Default

    belkin ftw!

    been using it for all gigs, and knock on wood, has been amazing.

    http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Hi-Spee.../dp/B0009IIE4W


    A buddy of mine has been using a CyberPower for quite awhile now and nothing but positive feed back as well!

    http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-Hig...rPower+USB+HUB

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    There are quite a few threads recommending different hubs and at least 2 blog posts on the matter. Search the forums mate.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •