Velcro NI Audio2DJ to laptop?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    25

    Default Velcro NI Audio2DJ to laptop?

    Hey team-

    I'm a happy NI Audio2DJ soundcard user, but I never know where to put the damn thing. Then it hit me: Just velcro it to the laptop screen! Thoughts?

    Here's my setup: 17" laptop (too big, I know), VCI-100SE, NI Audio2DJ, and sometimes a WD passport external HD. If I had a laptop stand, I'd velcro it to that, or on the underside of the laptop, but I don't have a laptop stand.

    thanks for your thoughts!

    -TB

  2. #2

    Default

    I got some audio dropouts from having to much USB exposed, so my solution was to keep it was close to the USB port (that it was plugged into) as possible.

    I had a velco strap the kept the cable wound up except the most minimal amount that I needed to reach the USB port.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I hadn't thought about cable length causing data dropouts. Good call.

    I've also found that the older drivers allowed lower latency with fewer (no) dropouts on my system.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverfish View Post
    I hadn't thought about cable length causing data dropouts. Good call.

    I've also found that the older drivers allowed lower latency with fewer (no) dropouts on my system.
    Thanks, i'll look into that.

    The other thing is that it might be possible that the laptop monitor could cause interference.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Ooooooh. I didn't consider that. I'll have to try it and see what happens. I'll report back on my findings.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Okay. Reporting back after testing the soundcard on the screen. With volume cranked all the way on the Audio2DJ, there was no noticeable distortion or interference from the laptop lcd. Now I'm considering putting my portable hard drive on the front, as well.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    487

    Default

    I usually throw mine into my mixer rack. If I spun at clubs, I guess I'd probably just lay it on the table... lol.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sss18734 View Post
    I usually throw mine into my mixer rack. If I spun at clubs, I guess I'd probably just lay it on the table... lol.

    I've done (shitty) gigs where there's literally only enough room for my laptop and the vci, and then my soundcard has to kind of sit awkwardly off to the side on another table/chair or something.

    I used to have a laptop with a pcmcia slot, and the echo audio DJ card was AWESOME. I loved that thing. That all got stolen.

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,314

    Default

    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BFLY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    583

    Default

    Genius - or is it?????????????
    Quote Originally Posted by Jester.NZ View Post

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •