Newbie speedbumps
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Newbie speedbumps

I am new to mixing/DJing and have hit a snag. I have a s2/traktor and am pretty familiar with how they work, but i dont know where to go from here. All the tech stuff aside, i am not sure how to practice mixing. What do you do to just practice techniques or even know what song you want to play with next...? Just feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all i suppose...

Tech Guru

Youtube is your friend.

Look at this guys beginner tutorials -

ellaskins DJ tutor

Set up your practice time two ways.

First concentrate on building a set list that has direction that is at least one hour to get thru and go over the mixes repeatedly until you feel you can nail it. I mean you are working the mix the way you want, record it so you can listen later, record the next attempt and so on until you get comfortable mixing a programmed set with the effects and tricks you want. Pay attention to why these songs work, how the ebb and flow of the energy level of the set goes, make every song one you love so that you will want to hear them a bunch.

Second, when you are bored of hearing the same music over and over, play with mixing the next thing you want to hear. Don't worry about the faults but how to correct them quickly. No need to go back over it and do it again or practice bits and pieces. Apply what you learned in the structured set to these new mixes. I rarely record these sessions, but just enjoy them while they are happening or quit because I'm not feeling it.

The third thing to do is repeat step one until you have a few play lists that you know work. You can have something to build on if you are playing by picking and choosing sections of each playlist. You can move between sections of things you know work, and the next tune you want to play until you are much better at song selection.