Music Question!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Music Question!

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default Music Question!

    hi, my name is Tino, and i just got into djing. but, i had a quick question. my old collection consisted of music downloaded from limewire. should i erase it all? i have a subscription with mymp3pool.com and was wondering if i should just use that and songs from itunes? thank you.

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,311

    Default

    If you already have a good collection of tunes, why delete them? just remember if you want to dj with those old tunes try and use the higher quality ones mate.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Yeah that's true. Most of em sound kind of weird. I guess ill just have to listen to them all and pick the bad ones our

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,311

    Default

    I have a lot of old tunes that are great but unfortunately aren't suitable to play out with as the quality is just too low. They are fine to listen to on the pod or whatever but as a general rule i wouldn't use any track below 192kbs with a few exceptions.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Well how would I check the bitrate?

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,311

    Default

    In iTunes, you can set a column with the bitrate in it, same with traktor. Also, you can check the properties of the file. I actually use a copy of my full itunes collection as my traktor collection, and am slowly deleting the lower quality tunes from that.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default

    So what's the lowest bitrate I can go for gigs?

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,311

    Default

    I would say for house parties etc 192 is fine. But for gigs try and use 320 if you can mate. Our last show i used about 50/50 192 and 320 with no issues. Just use yer ears
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Alrite thanks a lot man. You really helped me out with this issue.

  10. #10
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    I think if your getting paid to do gigs then you have a responsibility to be putting on quality audio files.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •