map jogwhells
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: map jogwhells

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default map jogwhells

    Hey everybody I am currently working on a mapping in live for my umix control pro from mixvibes and I would like to know if I could map the jogs to get the same results as Ean in his depeche mode routine
    Thanks already

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    71

    Default

    wasn't he using traktor in that video?

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    yes he was but what I want is to get the same results because everybtime I try to map my jogs they become crazy sensitive

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    71

    Default

    then no. you can't get traktor functionality out of Live.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    okay thanks for your feedback

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Just to clarify, you were talking about what he's doing at 1:25 in this video, right?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,667

    Default

    There's no reason you couldn't manage something similar by chaining effects and linking them to macros to trigger on/off/up down parameters ...

    It'll take some thought about how the effects are achieved and you may need something like Bomes or Max device to trigger multiple messages to the same midi note - certainly not as easy as doing it on Traktor.

    For the record I've never found any good usage for Jogwheels in Ableton.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Ofc, you can emulate it, and quite possibly come close. but itĘ'll take alot of work (and reading if you're not too pro) plus with the price of Max for Live, you'd be better off purchasing Traktor.
    Besides, OP used the word "same results". That's impossible without the traktor effects.
    Last edited by snoemu5a; 08-16-2012 at 05:50 AM. Reason: add

  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,667

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by snoemu5a View Post
    Ofc, you can emulate it, and quite possibly come close. but itĘ'll take alot of work (and reading if you're not too pro) plus with the price of Max for Live, you'd be better off purchasing Traktor.
    Besides, OP used the word "same results". That's impossible without the traktor effects.
    Guitar Rig + Traktor 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •