OSX Mountain Lion 4GB
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor deckard26354's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brightion-Jakarta
    Posts
    160

    Default OSX Mountain Lion 4GB

    As the thread title suggests. I have just upgraded my iMac (used for Ableton) and Macbook to 4gb (for Traktor).
    Mountain lion now fly's, and Traktor loads up about 5 seconds quicker.
    Not a very thrilling post but highly recommended for anyone out there struggling.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor HighTopFade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Daly City
    Posts
    412

    Default

    I went from a standard hard drive to a Hybrid Seagate Momentus XL and it showed the biggest performance difference. SSD would be nice but out of the price range for the amount of space I need.
    Used Record Shopper

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    That's why 2gb is the minimum and 4gb+ is the recommended RAM requirement.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,745

    Default

    I've been using my gf's new MBP, and I kinda like some of the stuff in mountain lion. I'll be happy to upgrade whenever Avid releases a Pro Tools update.

  5. #5

    Default

    RAM is cheap nowadays, upgrade to max you could put into the laptop.
    ---
    Contact me if you have a cool musical idea. @kentsandvik

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    imo 4 gig is minimum.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor deckard26354's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brightion-Jakarta
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ksandvik View Post
    RAM is cheap nowadays, upgrade to max you could put into the laptop.
    Cheap for the macbook, not so cheap for the iMac 2008. Older DDR2.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor deckard26354's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brightion-Jakarta
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    That's why 2gb is the minimum and 4gb+ is the recommended RAM requirement.
    Basically I was a luddite. Not bothered to install it even though I knew it would make a difference. But demonstrably this much difference is quite remarkable. It's now a pure multi tasking OS. Both Mac's feel as responsive as the day I bought them.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deckard26354 View Post
    Cheap for the macbook, not so cheap for the iMac 2008. Older DDR2.
    Isn't it funny how old DDR2s are getting more expensive than newer/faster DDR sticks...
    ---
    Contact me if you have a cool musical idea. @kentsandvik

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor deckard26354's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brightion-Jakarta
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ksandvik View Post
    Isn't it funny how old DDR2s are getting more expensive than newer/faster DDR sticks...
    It's generally always the same with RAM. Due to stock levels and reduced production I assume and general availability.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •