Sync iTunes Playlist to Traktor automatically
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Deniz343's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    99

    Default Sync iTunes Playlist to Traktor automatically

    I need to sync some playlists automaticly to Traktor.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Doesn't it already do this? Just open up the Itunes node in the traktor browser, and all the playlists should be there.

    If you want to automatically import the playlists from the itunes node into traktor (so that they show under the traktor playlists node) Then as far as i know you cant. You have to do it manually (which is the way I do it).
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Deniz343's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Thanks for your response. Can you explain the manual way.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Create the playlist in Traktor, then drag the tracks from the iTunes playlist. Voila! I have the do this all the time...it's a pain.

    I'm hoping Traktor releases an update in the near future that allows for full iTunes integration.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Or just right click on the playlist in the itunes node and click import playlist. No creating of the playlist needed!

    I have no idea if this would already update an existing playlist of the same name though, i always delete the playlist in the traktor playlist node before importing the itunes playlist.
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robdquick View Post
    Or just right click on the playlist in the itunes node and click import playlist. No creating of the playlist needed!

    I have no idea if this would already update an existing playlist of the same name though, i always delete the playlist in the traktor playlist node before importing the itunes playlist.
    Ahhh yes, forgot about this.

    I don't understand why Traktor can't just mirror iTunes. I would LOVE to see that upgrade.

  7. #7
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You have to update the playlist in traktor each time it changes in iTunes. Except for the iTunes node it will not stay in sync in Traktor.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    64

    Default

    This is one of the things that I really hope they update in the future. I can't fathom why Traktor has all of the integration with iTunes but makes you manually import iTunes & any iTunes playlists every time. If you just browse the playlist in the "iTunes" section of Traktor it's sketchy about displaying\reading the BPM, Grid, etc.

    So you right click it, import into Traktor playlists etc, which is fine and dandy until you have to update it. Then Traktor wants to overwrite it or create a copy, instead of just updating the list.

    I have become ruthless about rating, genre-ing, using the comments section, etc. when something goes into iTunes. This little bit of upfront work automatically populates a bunch of smart playlists I have set up for everything from genre to key to mood (BANGER, GROOVY, FUNKY, SYNTH, BEATS, etc.). Of course this work is largely wasted as there's no way I'm going to manually delete then update umpteen playlists every time I open Traktor. As a result I find myself sorting by import date in Traktor more than anything (which presents a new problem since 2.5 and my F1, that being hundreds and hundreds of loops scattered throughout my "normal" tracks when I'm browsing. They REALLY need a switch now to disable display of loops and one-shots in the browser).

    Just seems like they could easily configure Traktor to sync\import iTunes data automatically.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Deniz343's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C.Lukas1 View Post
    I would LOVE to see that upgrade.
    Me too

  10. #10

    Default

    Or just use the iTunes playlist directly in the Traktor browser under the iTunes folder, no need to copy it over as a Traktor playlist. Problem solved.

    I think the only reason someone needs to copy over the playlist is if they have multiple iTunes collections or they want to have a custom modified Traktor playlist based on the iTunes one.

    Note that this is a one-way street, Traktor will not modify iTunes playlists and that is good as I don't want other apps to mess around with the iTunes database.
    ---
    Contact me if you have a cool musical idea. @kentsandvik

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •