traktor pro midi questions?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default traktor pro midi questions?

    Hi

    I was wondering if Traktor output the track BPMs per track - and - if it does if there would be any way to feed that information into a midi controller im building (using UMC32)

    I know traktor can output something to be used as a sync, but I dont think this is per channel - just the master channel.

    In an ideal world my midi controller would have an LCD with the track bpms on.
    I dont really use the BPMs, it would just look cool

    Also, is there a way to use an encoder to control pitch bend when a track is playing and it control seek when its paused? Is this how some other contollers work?

    Cheers
    Neil

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Str8upDrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    Well the current umc-32 doesn't support midi in, so you wouldn't be able to send the BPM to it.
    But this is being addressed in firmware 2.0

  3. #3
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Moved from Gear forum -> General forum
    Please read the stickies before posting.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Str8upDrew View Post
    Well the current umc-32 doesn't support midi in, so you wouldn't be able to send the BPM to it.
    But this is being addressed in firmware 2.0
    Hi, I will be using the v2 firmware as im wanting to feedback to some leds, so does traktor output the bpms as midi?

    I have managed to get the seek and pitch bend to work now!
    Cheers

  5. #5
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    I know you can route the BPM to make the LEDs flash. It should be under Add -> Output

    and then one of those options
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi thanks, I think BPM LEDs will be fine as its only to look cool, no real practical function.
    I will let you know how i get on!


    Cheers
    Neil

  7. #7

    Default

    Could this also be done by making Traktor output the MIDI clock?
    reason, live7, traktor pro, m-audio x-session, m-audio O2, KRK RP5, Roland RD300sx

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingnerk View Post
    BPM LEDs will be fine as its only to look cool, no real practical function.
    lol, well aside from the fact that they flash the bpm of the track..

    that could be a little useful :P
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

  9. #9
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by feralchimp View Post
    Could this also be done by making Traktor output the MIDI clock?
    That's pretty much what it's doing. I believe there are different commands for which clock to output, master or deck or the deck that is master.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •