Is there any way to mash 2 different midi controllers together??
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Is there any way to mash 2 different midi controllers together??

What i mean by this is ive found a top half (no keys) of one midi keboard and the bottom half (JUST keys) of another one. is there any way i could mod these together to make my own?? im a novice at electronics and im working on my first DIY with an old 3rd party xbox controller. ill have pics up of the demo soon!

thanks!!

Sure there is. And it can be fairly easy to do.
    First off, which 2 keyboards do you have.
    Now the top half one, what's the problem with the keys on it, or do you just like the feel of the other one better?
    Do they have the same amount of keys?
    Most smaller keyboards use a single 20 pin connector, and most larger ones use two 16 pin connectors.
    So your best bet is to crack them both open and see if they fit. If not take some pictures while you have them open, then post them on here and i'll see if i can help.

im getting the top half of an oxygen 8 and the bottom half of an ozone. if im lucky ill be getting them in the next 5 days or so. Ebay is a magical thing

just curious....what is the reason for mashing these?

because they are 2 diff keyboards neither one is a whole unit

This should be super eazy. Since they both are m-audio, it's pretty much a guarantee that they use the same connectors.

awsome im waiting for the auction to end tomorrow ill hopefully get these for a nice price

Quote Originally Posted by djin50mnia View Post
    because they are 2 diff keyboards neither one is a whole unit
    i got that. it just seems like a lot of trouble to go thru for what is going to be a frankensteined mashup of a relatively inexpensive controller. i guess what i mean it, wouldn't it be easier just to get one working controller? maybe i missed some benefit you were looking to get out of using these two partials...

i use an oxy8. not hatin', just confused