Balanced Cables - TRS to XLR
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor DJ 2 Cut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Posts
    114

    Default Balanced Cables - TRS to XLR

    I am currently using an S2 controller and have noticed a lot of sound systems user XLR connections, which the S2 does not have.

    I know that both TRS and XLR use the same principles and are both balanced.

    Is it safe to use a TRS to XLR cable to connect it up to a system. Does this pose any risks or is it the same thing but just just different connectors?

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard thepanache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ 2 Cut View Post
    I am currently using an S2 controller and have noticed a lot of sound systems user XLR connections, which the S2 does not have.

    I know that both TRS and XLR use the same principles and are both balanced.

    Is it safe to use a TRS to XLR cable to connect it up to a system. Does this pose any risks or is it the same thing but just just different connectors?
    Same thing just different connections, perfectly safe.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor DJ 2 Cut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Posts
    114

    Default

    I thought so but didn't want to find out the hard way and break something. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Tech Guru VanGogo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    L.A. (lower Alabama)
    Posts
    1,918

    Default

    That's what I use.

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    What they said. If you want more info, check out my guide to audio connections linked in my sig.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor DJ 2 Cut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    St Louis, MO
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    What they said. If you want more info, check out my guide to audio connections linked in my sig.
    I'm a avid reader over there. I just didn’t see anything that stated they were compatible with each other for sure.

    Thanks everyone for the quick responses

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia ,PA
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Whats funnt is that on a lot of PA mixers (8,16,32 channel etc) the xlr inputs are mic level while the TRS inputs are line level. When Dj's come to my work we either need to DI their signal down to a mic or use adapters so consider yourself lucky with TRS outputs. If a sound guys just sticks your line level xlr into a mic input hes an idot so don't listen to him. just invest in some TRS cables.
    Setup:Technic 1200's Mk2, Denon DN-X120 Mixer, Korg PadKontrol, Traktor Audio 6, Numark N4. CPU/Software:Lenovo G550/Traktor Pro 2.
    https://www.facebook.com/DJMeash
    https://www.soundcloud.com/djmeash

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •