VCI-100Se Platter- How to Tighten them up
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor OllieThomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    104

    Default VCI-100Se Platter- How to Tighten them up

    Ok, deck A has a much greater greater resistance than deck B.

    upon removal of platters to reveal gold brackets, the Deck A bracket requires more force to move than deck B bracket.

    also, i can actually lift the deck B bracket about half a centimetre where with the deck A it doesnt lift. Deck A just seems to be getting tighter every time i rotate the platter.

    what is going on?

    can anyone help me with this?

    here is a video demonstrating the difference:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j961QKxWV88
    Last edited by OllieThomas; 07-17-2008 at 04:05 PM.
    Sony VAIO VGN-FE31M , Vestax VCI-100 SE , Microkorg

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard M.Hugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Ollie,

    When I received my VCI-100SE I had a similar problem with the platter being loose, I would recommend unscrewing the screws and taking the loose platter off. Below you will see where the platter would attach to the unit and I bet those screws are loose.
    Once you tighten the screws and reattach the platter it should fix your problem.

    It worked for me,

    Mark
    MacBook Pro 2.33GHZ 2G-Ram
    VCI-100SE (Original Batch 1-100) "March 2008"
    Traktor Pro 1.2.1
    Audio Kontrol 1

  3. #3
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    Since all of these were assembled by hand there seems to be a few of units that had parts not screwed in as tightly as possible. There are two possible sets of screws you may try to tighten.

    I have attached pictures of them.

  4. #4
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,905

    Default

    While you have it open it would be a good idea to lube the shaft where the touch sensor wiper contacts with a little silicon lube. That will prevent it from getting squeeky in the future.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor OllieThomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Hugh View Post
    Ollie,

    When I received my VCI-100SE I had a similar problem with the platter being loose, I would recommend unscrewing the screws and taking the loose platter off. Below you will see where the platter would attach to the unit and I bet those screws are loose.
    Once you tighten the screws and reattach the platter it should fix your problem.

    It worked for me,

    Mark

    Hey Mark

    When I first recieved the unit, this was also the case. Loose screws underneath the platters, which i tightened immediately. Platter B was still lifting, but havent realised how loose this is till now.
    Sony VAIO VGN-FE31M , Vestax VCI-100 SE , Microkorg

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor OllieThomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eangolde View Post
    Since all of these were assembled by hand there seems to be a few of units that had parts not screwed in as tightly as possible. There are two possible sets of screws you may try to tighten.

    I have attached pictures of them.
    As it is the gold bracket itself lifting (sorry i call it gold bracket, noob), it is evident I have to tighten the screws in the first picture. this involves taking the thing apart, something i really do not want to do. There is no way of doing this without taking the unit apart?
    Sony VAIO VGN-FE31M , Vestax VCI-100 SE , Microkorg

  7. #7
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    You just need to un-do 4 screws to access the bottom of the jog wheels, (the ones on the sides of the case) Then the bottom just slides right off, giving you access to the bottom of the unit. No chance of messing anything up, and you dont have to take any electronics apart.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor OllieThomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    104

    Default

    ean, you are an absolute legend, god bless x
    Sony VAIO VGN-FE31M , Vestax VCI-100 SE , Microkorg

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor OllieThomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    104

    Default

    the bottom lifts about an inch but the top half of mixer doenst lift???
    Sony VAIO VGN-FE31M , Vestax VCI-100 SE , Microkorg

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Aanrii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OllieThomas View Post
    the bottom lifts about an inch but the top half of mixer doenst lift???
    There's also one screw at the bottom of the vci, you have to take it off also.

    Or that's atleast the case with the regular vci.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •