kontrol x1
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: kontrol x1

  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4

    Default kontrol x1

    How can I connect 2 X1's on my mixer? do I need a sound card like the Audio 10?
    I have the DJM 800 And 2 CDJ's 2000, would like to have a digital set up.
    Last edited by DJPAQO; 10-27-2012 at 12:21 PM. Reason: More imfo

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    You connect them to your computer via USB, not to the mixer. Which mixer are you using? Please give some more details about your setup so we can give better advice.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Djm 800

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    In that case, the mixer doesn't have a built in sound card so yes you need an external. Now you just need to decide how many outputs you need.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    The X1's are midi controllers that connect to your computer. They have nothing to do with sound, but are essentially just a type of fancy keyboard that are made to control Traktor. As far as a sound interface goes you need at least an Audio 8 to use all four channels of the 800. You would connect the sound card to the computer and the sound from Traktor travels out of the USB to the sound card where you take RCA's from the outs on the sound card and plug them into the ins on the mixer. Traktor pro and at least one X1 to control the transport of Traktor.

    If you want to use CDJ's or turntables that's a whole other discussion.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    In that case, the mixer doesn't have a built in sound card so yes you need an external. Now you just need to decide how many outputs you need.
    Thank You. you helped a lot. THANKS

  7. #7
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for all that information I truly appreciate it. I have the CDJ 2000's and the DJM 800, I am trying to put together a digital set up. Thanks

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    If you have 2000s, you can aggregate their built in sound cards into one device and use that as your traktor output. Pioneer have guides or you can google 'aggregate sound card' for your operating system.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •