Issues with Ableton reading BPM's correctly
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default Issues with Ableton reading BPM's correctly

    I have some bassline and other various loops in Ableton, and they are at 70 BPMs, but Ableton keeps reading them at 140 BPMs. Is there something I'm missing here, like in Traktor where you can set the BPM range?

    Any help and advice is appreciated

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    You can hit the /2 button to half their tempo, but its easier if you put your master tempo down to 70 (its probably sitting on 130). Ableton will choose the closest tempo to the master tempo that fits the audio material.

    So say if i import a dnb track and my master tempo is 80 it will import the track at somewhere 87 instead of 174 which is the actual tempo of the track. But if i have the master tempo around 180 it will import it at the proper 174.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    So it's the master tempo that's messing it up? Seems kind of odd but I'll try it out

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Carlsbad,CA
    Posts
    210

    Default

    +1 on Bento solution

    another method

    Import Track and deselect Warp, let play at normal tempo. Use the tap tempo button to determine the actual tempo of the track This will set the Ableton master clock to the tapped tempo. now turn on the warp and use the Warp From Here (Start At ...) command to tell Auto-Warp to use your tapped tempo as a reference

    This will help with warping and may help with BPM issue

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Well I know for a fact that the loops are at 70 BPMs, so I should be able to set the master clock at 70 BPMs and have it auto warp off of that based on what you're saying, no?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Carlsbad,CA
    Posts
    210

    Default

    yes, for the most part that should give you warp markers based on the master tempo. This still may not be perfect. Zoom in on the first beat and line the maker to that beat. move to bar 8 line that marker up. repeat every 8 bars.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    The loops are only two bars long

    = p

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Carlsbad,CA
    Posts
    210

    Default

    gotcha. you should have real tight warps then.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •