Traktor scratch Pro Filter smart knob
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Student Alex White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Canada, Quebec City
    Posts
    3

    Default Traktor scratch Pro Filter smart knob

    Hello guys,
    i've search the whole forum but i don't find the exact anwser im searching for.

    In Traktor scratch pro i want to do a mixer filter smart knob.
    I want it to turn the filter on when the knob is not in middle position
    and turn off the filter again when it's back in middle position.

    i want to do that in the 4 decks

    i have read all article about modifiers but i don't figured out how can i do that

    thank you.

    Alex White

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    This is a built in function of Traktor Pro there is a filter that does just this on every deck - no need for special midi maps just map that knob.

  3. #3
    Tech Student Alex White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Canada, Quebec City
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks Bentosan for your fast answer,
    but i think i have misunderstood a thing here...

    As i know all the 4 decks filters can be turn on/off with a switch and can also be tweak 0 -127 with a knob to be low pass and hi pass filter.

    I don't want to have to enable them manualy before tweaking them.
    so i want to turn them on automatically when they are not at 0 position(50%/50% position)

    and i don't know any Traktor built in fonction that do this?

    can you explain me.

    Thank you
    Alex White

  4. #4
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Just leave the filter turned on all the time - at the 50% position the filter does not affect the audio signal.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    935

    Default

    not sure you can do it in traktor but if you were using bomes, you would set up the HP/LP and then use a variable (x) to determine if the effects should be on or off. for example, if x=64 then the effects would be off. if x>64 then HP effect would turn on, if x<64 then LP effect would turn on.

    best of luck.

  6. #6
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charo View Post
    not sure you can do it in traktor but if you were using bomes, you would set up the HP/LP and then use a variable (x) to determine if the effects should be on or off. for example, if x=64 then the effects would be off. if x>64 then HP effect would turn on, if x<64 then LP effect would turn on.

    best of luck.
    No need to do any of that, just do what said

  7. #7
    Tech Student Alex White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Canada, Quebec City
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you guys
    The anwser is much clearer now.

    I will leave it always on because i don't want to use translator.

    Alex White

  8. #8
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Theres no need to have it turn on and off by itself - i personally just leave the filter always on at the 50% position it doesnt colour the sound at all.

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    BentoSan is right . It really is that simple. I leave it on and center it when i dont want any effect.

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    +1 . I use a kill button for the filter though so i can whammy bar it then cut it off at the right time, and the soft takeover also
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •