External Mixers and Traktor (Xone 42) ?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mayo, Ireland
    Posts
    150

    Default External Mixers and Traktor (Xone 42) ?

    How would it work with Traktor Pro 2, In how what are the advantages and disadvantages of buying an analogue mixer and only using with Traktor Pro 2. What do you find you get and what you do not get from it using it this way?

    Had thoughts of using this mixer with an X1.

    Does the USB port on it send Midi to the software to control from your mixer what happens on screen?

    It needs external Sound card Im sure, but which one of the Native Instruments range would suit me? Ill just be playing from MP3s in Traktor not a CD or TT's.

    See Ive been getting very confused on how External mixers work with Traktor

  2. #2
    Tech Guru squidot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    803

    Default

    i've been looking into that mixer and the usb port is 1.1 and from what i understand only allows you to either a). play a source of audio from your computer into the mic/usb channel, or b). can be used as a way to record your sets through usb. the usb port does not send midi as this mixer has no midi controls.

    you would have to get an external soundcard with at least 4 outs in order to use all 4 channels on the mixer. basically the sound card sends each deck from traktor into it's own channel on the mixer giving you external control.

    if i were you, i would probably look at something like the denon x1600 since you don't have a sound card. it's only slightly more expensive than the xone42, but you would save money since you wouldn't have to buy a soundcard...and it's a traktor certified mixer that has midi controls.
    tsp 2.5 | vci-400 ege | mfspectra | kontrol x1s | rokit 8s (ferrari grey) | krk 10 sub | audio 8
    hp dv6 - i5 - 8gb | maschine | mpk49 | apc40 | rokit 5s | technics sl-1200mk3ds | cdj100s
    thread of free music

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,315

    Default

    Yep. DNX1600 and one (or two) X1's is a fantastic setup.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mayo, Ireland
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Thanks lads for the replys

    Yeah I was looking at getting one first time round second hand but alas no one has any for sale in Ireland on the ad sites

    Yes two X1 setup looks like you could pull off some deadly stuff

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Birmingham UK to Cape Town SA
    Posts
    51

    Default

    I just picked up an xone 92 with two x1's. As you've said, I'm using the Audio 10 sound card. So far absolutely loving the set up, and I don't personally feel like there is anything missing... Whatever you choose to get I'm sure you will be happy with!

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mayo, Ireland
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Lucky lucky, I was going to go for the 92 first but then decided on the 42, did you pick yours up second hand ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •