Mapping idea, modifiers, cross contamination
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    247

    Default Mapping idea, modifiers, cross contamination

    I'm remapping my MF Classic for cue point juggling and it's pretty smooth so far! Banks 1 and 2 are IG on decks A and B, banks 3 and 4 for cue points 1-8 also on decks A and B. This leaves me with four buttons left over on banks 3 and 4. I was going to map three of them to instant effects, but I wanted one of them to be a shift button for deleting cue points, and toggling the "hold or toggle" state of the effects.

    My only problem is that modifiers are global, and I don't know how to track down which ones I can use without screwing up the functionality of my other controllers!
    Does anyone know a safe way for me to go about finding out what modifier I can use as a simple "shift" state?

    Also, what are some effects you guys like to use over cue point juggling? I already figure on reverb and delay, help me think of a third one!
    VCI-100se1.3 & Kontrol F1 & Midi Fighter Classic & Traktor Audio 2 & Pioneer HDJ-1000 & Compaq Presario CQ62
    http://www.facebook.com/DjFrostGiant
    http://www.mixcloud.com/FrostGiant/

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    247

    Default

    Perhaps using the same modifier as the shift button on my VCI-100? It would be pretty centric around temporary toggling already, and I don't think I would ever have to use the "Shift+whatever" on two controllers at once.
    VCI-100se1.3 & Kontrol F1 & Midi Fighter Classic & Traktor Audio 2 & Pioneer HDJ-1000 & Compaq Presario CQ62
    http://www.facebook.com/DjFrostGiant
    http://www.mixcloud.com/FrostGiant/

  3. #3
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,357

    Default

    Activate 3rd bank, add modifier 1 / button-hold / value 1, Assign it for button.

    Set store hotcue M1=0
    Delete cue M1=1

    Repeat this for bank 4 and you're good to go.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    247

    Default

    My concern is that my VCI-100 mapping uses a lot of modifiers, and I don't want to map a modifier to my midi fighter that would screw things up with my VCI. Is there any way to determine which modifiers are good for controller double duty?
    VCI-100se1.3 & Kontrol F1 & Midi Fighter Classic & Traktor Audio 2 & Pioneer HDJ-1000 & Compaq Presario CQ62
    http://www.facebook.com/DjFrostGiant
    http://www.mixcloud.com/FrostGiant/

  5. #5
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,357

    Default

    Do you use separate mappings for each device or do you have both controllers mapped in single generic device?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    247

    Default

    different mappings per device, but I thought that modifier states were global?
    VCI-100se1.3 & Kontrol F1 & Midi Fighter Classic & Traktor Audio 2 & Pioneer HDJ-1000 & Compaq Presario CQ62
    http://www.facebook.com/DjFrostGiant
    http://www.mixcloud.com/FrostGiant/

  7. #7
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,357

    Default

    In separate devices you're good.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    247

    Default

    Cool thank you! I'll dive right in then!
    VCI-100se1.3 & Kontrol F1 & Midi Fighter Classic & Traktor Audio 2 & Pioneer HDJ-1000 & Compaq Presario CQ62
    http://www.facebook.com/DjFrostGiant
    http://www.mixcloud.com/FrostGiant/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •