Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Filter Knobs - No auto on?

    I've been browsing around for quite a while now trying to figure this out but does anyone know how / if it is possible to disable the filter knobs from automatically turning on and assign a button specifically for the purposes of turning it on / off.

    (I have tried to map "filter on" on a button and it works for turning it on/off but when I go to reset the knob it just turns back on.)

    I have an APC 40 as well and even when mapping filter adjust alone it acts the same as the knobs on the default S4 config.


    //
    Traktor 2.6 w/ Kontrol S4 (Default configuration)

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    991

    Default

    I don't think that would be possible, it's something quite specific to the s4 filter knobs. Turning the knob would always activate the filter, it's not something that can be overridden, it's inscribed within the firmware and because you can't map a knob or fader as a button in the native mode, you won't have any solution (apart from dropping the embedded mapping and creating a user one or using a midi mapping).
    Originally Posted by VOX5505 Enough that I'm not one of the "top DJs"...assuming you mean deadmau5/tiesto etc. But I'm right at the front of the tier right below them...If I wanted to, there are so many "I'm infinitely more successful with music than you'll ever be" cards I could be pulling right now...
    Answer by DigitalDevil You kinda sound like you're full of shit...

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yul View Post
    I don't think that would be possible, it's something quite specific to the s4 filter knobs. Turning the knob would always activate the filter, it's not something that can be overridden, it's inscribed within the firmware and because you can't map a knob or fader as a button in the native mode, you won't have any solution (apart from dropping the embedded mapping and creating a user one or using a midi mapping).
    Hmm, while this is true to the S4 would you have any ideas behind an APC40 acting the same after mapped?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    991

    Default

    when I go to reset the knob it just turns back on.)
    on what controller are you talking about here, the s4 or the apc?
    Originally Posted by VOX5505 Enough that I'm not one of the "top DJs"...assuming you mean deadmau5/tiesto etc. But I'm right at the front of the tier right below them...If I wanted to, there are so many "I'm infinitely more successful with music than you'll ever be" cards I could be pulling right now...
    Answer by DigitalDevil You kinda sound like you're full of shit...

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yul View Post
    on what controller are you talking about here, the s4 or the apc?
    Talking the apc there, sorry for the confusion.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    991

    Default

    Sorry for my language so if I understand correctly:

    you've mapped both an on/off button on your apc that activates/deactivates the filter and a filter knob that's just supposed to control the filter parameter. And even with your button on the off position, turning the knob on the apc still activats the filter on, right?

    Weird, but the s4 bundle (hardware/software) packs quite a few things like that.

    Try the following, add a modifier that is your button (on/off) - keep its function - as a toggling modifier (0 goes to 1, 1 goes to 0) and add that modifier condition to the filter knob and see if that may solve the issue.

    What about the in and out ports, do you think that could have an influence? How are they set on the apc?


    If that doesn't work, I don't have a clue and that may be worth sending a question/ticket to NI's support.
    Originally Posted by VOX5505 Enough that I'm not one of the "top DJs"...assuming you mean deadmau5/tiesto etc. But I'm right at the front of the tier right below them...If I wanted to, there are so many "I'm infinitely more successful with music than you'll ever be" cards I could be pulling right now...
    Answer by DigitalDevil You kinda sound like you're full of shit...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •