manually beatmatching using a controller?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default manually beatmatching using a controller?

hi guys im new to djing.. and bought a controller, pioneer ddj-t1 (after being recommended by my teacher) when i started.. after learning for 3 months now.. i know the fundamental of mixing.. and kind of pissed off that he recommended me a controller..

reason is because i want to be able to manually beatmatch by ear as in cdj (as most clubs now only have cdjs).. with that in mind with my economic situation now.. i couldnt afford to buy another pair of cdjs and mixers..

is there anyway that i can practice my manual beatmatching by using a controller? if so, are the (% of bpms) in controller the same as in cdj?

for example if a song in deck a is -0.80% slower than deck b (in traktor) would this to equate the same in cdj (assuming same song)? thanks very much

Your honest best bet if you want to manually beatmatch is totally ignore the Tempo and BPM readouts and (beating dead horse) "Use your ears".

If you get used to mixing using your ears not the readouts in Traktor you will be much stronger at mixing in the long run or even just have the experience of being able to do so. If you are too impatient or lazy to learn how to (properly) manually beatmatch use the BPM read out as a guidance and learn to adjust to suit by ears.

Tech Convert

the best way is to "hide" the information of songs shown on traktor or just dont look at screen and try to beatmatch with your ears
    i was in the same situation with you when i bought my controller,i used to load two tracks with different bpm and i was trying to match them without watching the information on screen

thanks for the reply mate.. yes for the long run i will be practicing where i would totally ignore the readouts..