Beginner Sound Setup
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Beginner Sound Setup

Haven't done any DJ'ing in awhile, and when I did I just used a basic setup of 1 powered behringer speaker with my vci100 and audio2dj soundcard.

Im supposed to DJ 2 weddings this year and I need to get a real setup finally. I am a complete noob when it comes to anything sound/speaker related. I would like to get 2 speakers and a sub if possible, I thought about just getting a powered sub to add with the powered speaker I have, but I have no clue how all this would hookup to a soundcard with only 2 ports, as the speaker takes up 1 and headphones take up another.

Any advice would be appreciated on if I need a new soundcard, or what I need to power 2 speakers and a sub. Like I said I have no clue about any of this and its driving me crazy trying to look up stuff.

Edit: So i guess I could just add another powered speaker? Can I hook 2 up to the 1 port on a soundcard though

Thanks
    Last edited by dorkimoe; 01-21-2013 at 03:09 PM.

Tech Guru

I'd seriously consider adding a mixer to your setup. What happens if your computer fails? You will need extra inputs for a back up audio source until you can identify the root of the problem. You will most likely need a professional mic input source too for a wedding. A mixer will give you XLR outs which will minimise any noise interference too.
    “A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules, often with the assistance of unsuspecting musicians.”

SSD Dual drive MBP, VCI100SE, 2 MF's, Audio 8, Echo Audiofire 2, 2x1200's, CDJ800s, Novation Twitch, XoneS2, X1, tons of PA Gear.

Tech Guru

Oh and 2 powered tops with one sub is probably the bare minimum needed PA wise. You may need more depending on venue size, amount of people attending etc.
    “A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules, often with the assistance of unsuspecting musicians.”