Best new mac for touring dj?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Best new mac for touring dj?

    Hey guys, quick question what do you think is more beneficial to have? 16gb ram in the heavier macbook pro 2.9ghz i7, or 8gb ram in the lighter macbook pro retina 3.0ghz i7? Should I even bother thinking about the 8gb macbook air 2.0ghz? Storage isn't much of an issue as they all have ssd and I use an external. I will be using traktor scratch and doing some heavy scratching along with remix decks if that helps...I just wonder if the extra 8gb is worth the extra 2 pounds...

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    You do know that you can always change RAM out yourself right?

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Conall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlvrDragon50 View Post
    You do know that you can always change RAM out yourself right?
    Not on the retina macbooks or macbook air

    OP: If you only use traktor then they'll all run it easily. Then it just comes down to what you'd prefer, small size or power. The RAM would really be low on my list of worries these days as it surpasses the needs of most people.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    Weird. Thought you could still do it in the Retina.

    Guess not.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hmm, really? Even with two decks scratching and constant remix deck playing? I just worry because once I spend the money, this laptop will be the last one I buy for a while! If thats the case, I'll definitely go with the retina, Thanks for the help!

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard DJMichaelHavok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    72

    Default

    be warned, retinas run VERY VERY hot

  7. #7

    Default

    Traktor isn't really a ram hog so any new macbook will do the trick just fine. If you plan on doing producing with logic or ableton or some other DAW you may want to consider the upgradeability though (assuming you don't go for 8gb of ram or more to start).

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Era 7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Inside your speaker
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlvrDragon50 View Post
    Weird. Thought you could still do it in the Retina.

    Guess not.
    yeah apple in all its wisdom decided to solder the ram to the logic board on the new MBPs.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,423

    Default

    apple in all its wisdom decided to solder the ram to the logic board on the new MBPs
    Bastards.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mechanicville NY
    Posts
    296

    Default

    I use traktor 4 decks on a 4-5 year old 13" macbook. so yeah pretty sure a brand new one shouldn't have a problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •