How to gain CDJ control with Traktor Scratch?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    205

    Default How to gain CDJ control with Traktor Scratch?

    Just got an Audio 6 with TSP 2 and everything seems to be working ok. I have sound and decks A and B are working. However, the CDJs (350s) are working as if they're not connected to software. Can't scroll down my playlist in traktor, looping is the normal looping I have without software, etc. Basically, I can only play/cue tracks in Traktor. Is this a mapping issue?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    That's completely normal and how timecode works. HID/MIDI is used to gain proper control of Traktor with CDJs rather than timecode which gives the limited control you have now.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    NE Scotland
    Posts
    372

    Default

    As above. You dont need timecodes for the 350's. Just set them up as midi controllers, and you will get the functionality you need. Bin / sell the Audio 6 and hook up with USB.
    Technics 1210 mk2's, Pioneer CDJ 500, Allen & Heath DB4, NI F1's (x2), Reloop Contour Controller Edition, Sennheiser HD25 1-II or Allen & Heath XD2-53's depending on my mood...

    Mixcloud : xs2man - Latest Mix: Latest Mix 13-10-2016

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Audeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    415

    Default

    So yeah.. are you using timecode? Midi? HID? Have you read a manual?
    Help us to help you
    Midi Fighter|Kontrol X1|A4DJ|HDJ2000|MBP 13" 2,53Ghz 60GB SSD/500GB HDD

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Using timecode. Read the manual. Set up everything step by step. So would I be better off using them as midi?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Audeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    415

    Default

    How is the CDJ supposed to tell the computer if you want to select another song if there is no connection?
    Do you have both CDJ's hooked up via USB to the computer? If yes, you can use them in MIDI mode to control Traktor.
    But you can't use MIDI mode and timecode mode at the same time (I think. I've never used the 350's).

    I know it's a blunt thing to ask but do you understand what timecode is?
    Midi Fighter|Kontrol X1|A4DJ|HDJ2000|MBP 13" 2,53Ghz 60GB SSD/500GB HDD

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Audeo View Post
    How is the CDJ supposed to tell the computer if you want to select another song if there is no connection?
    Do you have both CDJ's hooked up via USB to the computer? If yes, you can use them in MIDI mode to control Traktor.
    But you can't use MIDI mode and timecode mode at the same time (I think. I've never used the 350's).

    I know it's a blunt thing to ask but do you understand what timecode is?
    I basically thought I'd be able to use my cdj/mixer setup much like a controller.

  8. #8

    Default

    You can, but you don't need an Audio 6 for that. Just connect the CDJ-350s with USB cables to your laptop and you're done.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Ok, so why would I need the audio 6 then? Is there some advantage to using it with TSP2?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    There is no benefit to using Scratch or the Audio 6 with the CDJ 350s. You only need to connect the CDJs to Traktor and load up the mapping, and you'll be able to use (almost) all of the CDJ buttons within Traktor.

    The 350s can also serve as your soundcard for output so there's no need for the Audio 6. You'll need to aggregate them 1st though.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •