iOS can control remix decks, why can't android?
    Tech Wizard

Default iOS can control remix decks, why can't android?

Maybe I'm missing something here, but I've been trying to find just something that will let me control the remix decks with my android device. I don't see what the issue is. I'm an android developer, and while I don't know much about MIDI programming I know that there's almost always a way to do something if you know how to code. Is there an app I don't know about? I'm a college student, so I don't have the money to blow on an F1, but I really want to incorporate the remix decks into my DJ sets. Can someone help me out?

Tech Guru

there is no way without an f1 or mf3d
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by djchriswoods.co.uk View Post
    there is no way without an f1 or mf3d
    Sadly you're misinformed. There's a layout out there for lemur and there's an F1 hack project WRITTEN IN JAVA that supposedly allows you to fake the MIDI signals.

Quote Originally Posted by zack771 View Post
    Sadly you're misinformed. There's a layout out there for lemur and there's an F1 hack project WRITTEN IN JAVA that supposedly allows you to fake the MIDI signals.
    no legit NI approved way... slash nothing i would depend on personally if you were gigging out

Android still has latency issues. I suspect it's just that Android has no way for applications to establish real time priority but it could just be that their audio stack is really crappy. Either way it's a poor platform for audio work atm, sadly. I did hear stories of a company making some low latency 3rd party audio drivers or something along those lines so maybe further down the line it'll improve.

Personally I'm looking forward to Ubuntu on phones for portable music goodness