Need advice on going digital please
    Tech Wizard

Default Need advice on going digital please

Hi All,

I am totally new to digital Dj’ing, and I have posted this thread in the “General Discussion” section, as my question doesn’t directly relate to just one software program or one matter.

Let Me Explain,

Like I said before, I am totally new to digital Dj’ing, I have never even touched a CDJ before, strictly vinyl only. However, recently I have purchased a Pioneer DDJ-SX from my local store, and I am currently awaiting the goods to arrive into the UK apparently.

In the meantime I have decided to digitize my vinyl collection of oldskool Dnb and jungle as a lot of the tunes are impossible to get on mp3 or cd nowadays. I have been doing this in audacity and I am getting excellent sounding rips.

Now, the more I read into digital Dj’ing, Traktor and serato etc, the more problem I keep unveiling on websites and forums. I have now just finished ripping my collection, and have not polished them up or anything like that as of yet, because I found an article suggesting that because my tunes have been ripped from vinyl (on a technics 1210 mk2 to be precise) they will not be 100% pitch perfect, and Traktor doesn’t like that! Something to do with a beat grid?

Now I understand I will be using the new “Serato Dj” software that is bundled with the DDJ-SX, so I was wondering if Serato has this same problem that I read about Traktor?

I ripped all my vinyl at the correct speed set at “0” Pitch.

This now brings me into yet another program, Ableton, something I have no experience with whatsoever.