i love traktor, just bought new CDJ's.. do i really need to switch to rekordbox?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83

    Default i love traktor, just bought new CDJ's.. do i really need to switch to rekordbox?

    So here it is, I just bought a new setup, 2x CDJ-2000nexus + 1x DJM-900nexus.. I've been using Traktor 2 Pro for several years now, and really like how close of a zoom you can get to the waveform when setting beatgrids.. I tried installing the "rekordbox" software, and was really disappointed that I could hardly see if I was being "exact" enough when moving around the beatgrids..

    In using Traktor, I am basically a pro at quickly and efficiently setting beatgrids.. Is there any good reason why I should switch to rekordbox (like will I lose any important functionality of my new setup?) or will Traktor do everything that rekordbox can do plus more?

    And also, do Traktor beatgrids transfer perfectly on a USB drive when I plug it into my CDJ's? Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You just made a thread on this 30 mins ago. Short term memory problems?

    The detailed Nexus waveforms are entirely dependant on Rekordbox, and if you ever want to use the CDJs without a computer you'll need to analyze+export your music through RB too.

    Traktor grids do not transfer in any way to CDJs. You can use the CDJs as HID controllers like I said in your other thread, but you won't get the detailed waveforms on the player screen like you do with Rekordbox.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    503

    Default

    Didn't someone make a program to transfer Traktors stuff to Rekordbox.

    I think it's just cue points etc not grids though

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Rekord Buddy is a 3rd party paid app, and proper Traktor integration seems to be coming soon in the 1.5 update.

    http://nextaudiolabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=174
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    121

    Default

    +1 for rekord buddy here. With a couple of clicks your whole traktor collection, with all tags, beat grids, playlists, cues etc gets ported over to rekordbox. It's only 3/$5 too.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Dude did you do ANY research before you bought this set up?
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  7. #7
    Tech Guru dj gullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Faroe Islands
    Posts
    600

    Default

    I'd also like to ask why you bought this setup when you had so little background knowlage of how it works. It's kind of like buying a ferrarie without a driverlicense.
    DJ setup 1 - Pioneer XDJ-Aero, Pioneer DDJ-SP1, Mixvibes Cross, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000. DJ setup 2 - NI Kontrol F1, Z1, X1mkII, Traktor Pro2, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000 w. Production - iMac 21.5", Motu 828x, Icon Qcon Pro + EX, Nektar Panorama P4, Propellerhead Reason, Mashine Mikro(drum programer in Reason)

  8. #8
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    what's the point of buying CDJ-2000 Nexus if you're going to use traktor with them?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •