Akai EIE Pro
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Akai EIE Pro

  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    11

    Default Akai EIE Pro



    Anyone have any experience with this? The features and build are appealing and the fact that it's got a USB hub and looks like you could throw it through a wall makes it attractive.

    I'm thinking of picking one up for my audio interface. Think it's worth it?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor SwedeDreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    264

    Default

    I've looked into it before, and yes ! As long as its the pro , seeing as too it has a much better sound quality.
    Traktor Kontrol S2 :: Midi Fighter Classic :: Akai APC40 :: 17" Acer
    Check out our new "D.O.D - What Time?" Remix! : http://snd.sc/1bvF1xf

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Have you used it? Would you pick it over something else?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Desert Hot Springs, CA
    Posts
    763

    Default

    what did you wanna use it for? dj or production? that thing is HUGE btw.. not practical for DJing out.

    take a look at the Saffire Pro 14 for production
    Hardware: Akai Max49, Maschine, Equator D5 monitors, Saffire Pro 14
    Software: Logic, Maschine
    My Neighbors Listen to House Music.. Because They Have To.

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I was looking at it to potentially feed a DDM4000 into and because one of the USB ports on my Macbook is busted.

    That was the original idea, then I noticed the Denon x1600, which would cost close to what a DDM4000 + at least a good 4 channel soundcard would cost.

    This is more for DJing but flexibility is always nice.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Flash101uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    655

    Default

    I bagged the non pro version recently. Its a great card even if its only 16bit playback.

    Honestly, you'd be hard pressed to hear the difference between 16 and 24 bit wav.

    The USB hub is great and the myriad of inputs and outputs really sets it above many of the other interfaces around this price range.

    Buy it! But make sure youve got enough desk space.
    Ecler NUO 3.0, 2 1210mk2, midi fighter, Kontrol X1, Akai LPD8, Reloop RHP10's, TSP, Audio 8

    Howitzer on Soundcloud | Howitzer on Twitter | Howitzer on Facebook | Howitzer dnb blog

  7. #7
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    i have the eie pro i use it every day, a rock solid sound sound card with very low noise on the preamps and alot of headroom. the VU meters are old skool gold! the only thing is that on windows the drivers gave me blue screen all the time, until the most recent update, since then no problems!!!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,672

    Default

    That is Freaky !

    I had never ever seen one before until today while randomly browsing ebay and read up on it and now on DJTT as well !

    Looks like a very VERY cool soundcard. And even in a few years when USB is dead as a dodo, it'd make a mighty fine looking paperweight (much nicer looking than an Audio10 for example)

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I suppose the question for me now is, this and and a DDM4000, or a Denon x1600, or I might be missing it entirely and have a completely different 4 channel mixer option.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    get the ddm4000 it is a good unit. (the fact that you can create custom eq curves is indispensable) but for djing go for an audio 8 or audio 10 they will treat you good over the years and have perfect integration with traktor and play nice with other software as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •