Mixer to controll traktor, how?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Default Mixer to controll traktor, how?

    Dear DJTT!

    I'm working on my setup, and decided that I don't want a S4, VCI-400 - alike mixer, but I want an external mixer.
    How can I get a 4-channel mixer working with Traktor.
    It doesn't have to be a Traktor Certified Mixer, just a 'cheap' 4 channel mixer.

    But how can I controll the EQ and pre-listen (monitor) my 4 channels?
    Do I really have to buy an overpriced Audio 8 from NI?

    Or what are my options?

    Thanks a lot for the advice guys!

    WY!
    Latest Production: https://soundcloud.com/pjetrovmusic/techhouse-project-1
    - F1 - F1 - CME UF6 - Maschine Mikro -

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Jayvee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    North-Holland,the Netherlands
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Well the soundcard doesn't need to be from NI, but you will need a soundcard yes.

    Mixcloud | Soundcloud | Facebook | Website(Dutch)

    I mean, i would REALLY like to wake up and have boobs one day but there are reasons that just wouldnt work - Antifmradio

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayvee View Post
    Well the soundcard doesn't need to be from NI, but you will need a soundcard yes.
    I'm a bit 'noobish' at this point, I don't know much about soundcards for 4 channel mixers..
    An audio 2 is not good enough probably?
    I need an audio 8 (or alike product from another company)?
    Latest Production: https://soundcloud.com/pjetrovmusic/techhouse-project-1
    - F1 - F1 - CME UF6 - Maschine Mikro -

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MaxOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,920

    Default

    audio 8 / 10 have added benefit of being scratch certified if you ever do want decks
    CLUB OF JACKS - RELEASES >>TRAXSOURCE
    Club of Jacks are a London based House & Garage production / DJ duo with releases on a number of underground labels including Plastik People Recordings, Blockhead Recordings, Hi Energy!, Pocket Jacks Trax, Soul Revolution Records and their own Club of Jacks imprint.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WastedYouth View Post
    I'm a bit 'noobish' at this point, I don't know much about soundcards for 4 channel mixers..
    An audio 2 is not good enough probably?
    I need an audio 8 (or alike product from another company)?
    You can get a mixer with a built-in sound card for much less than getting a mixer and an Audio 10 separately.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    NE Scotland
    Posts
    372

    Default

    As Makar1 said, you can get it all in one cheaper.

    The Audio 10 is 250 on its own, but the Behinger DDM4000, with built in 4 channel soundcard is only 340.

    http://www.decks.co.uk/products/mixe...Q#.UU3QhxxuqtY
    Technics 1210 mk2's, Pioneer CDJ 500, Allen & Heath DB4, NI F1's (x2), Reloop Contour Controller Edition, Sennheiser HD25 1-II or Allen & Heath XD2-53's depending on my mood...

    Mixcloud : xs2man - Latest Mix: Latest Mix 13-10-2016

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    The DDM4000 doesn't have a USB port, let alone an interface
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    The DDM4000 doesn't have a USB port, let alone an interface
    This. It does however have MIDI control.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sambo View Post
    This. It does however have MIDI control.
    How would I used it than? As it doesn't have an USB?
    Latest Production: https://soundcloud.com/pjetrovmusic/techhouse-project-1
    - F1 - F1 - CME UF6 - Maschine Mikro -

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You could get a cheaper 4-stereo-out interface like this:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/ESI-GIGAPort.../dp/B008J7LCZ8
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •