Buying turntables which to get?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Buying turntables which to get?

I'm new to turntables and a beginner. I know technics are good, but can't really put the dough up for a pair. Any suggestions for something cheaper that functions as good as technics?

Tech Convert

Numark TTX or Stanton T series, lots of torque, looks more modern too
    Traktor S4, 2x Traktor X1, 2x Technics 1200, 2x Numark TTX, 2x CDJ1000, 2x CDJ 800, A&H Xone 22, Pioneer DJM 600, Numark Mixtrack
    Check out my mixes:
    http://www.mixcrate.com/deckzmator/dj_mixes

Tech Convert

Quote Originally Posted by DeckZmator View Post
    Numark TTX or Stanton T series, lots of torque, looks more modern too
    Numark TTX is $390 on amazon, my Technics mk3 were ~$300 each. Mk2 goes for even less.

OP: how much are you looking to spend for the pair?

Tech Convert

Techs have more resale value compared to the TTX and other brands in the long run. If you are really looking for an entry level, direct drive mate, you can start off with really cheap ones like the Stanton T60's or T62 or other equivalent gear. I think they go for around a hundred dollars or cheaper each. They are plasticky, but with some good torque.
    Last edited by DeckZmator; 03-29-2013 at 09:56 AM.
    Traktor S4, 2x Traktor X1, 2x Technics 1200, 2x Numark TTX, 2x CDJ1000, 2x CDJ 800, A&H Xone 22, Pioneer DJM 600, Numark Mixtrack
    Check out my mixes:
    http://www.mixcrate.com/deckzmator/dj_mixes

Tech Mentor

What are you looking to do as a Beginner? Are you trying to be a hip hop, scratch DJ, the typical EDM Pop DJ... You wont find anything cheaper that functions as well as technic. THats why they are so expensive.

Ive never understood why in 2013 people are so affectionate with buying turntables. Yes its the original skill. Yes it may help, it may not. But with the money that can be spent on those two turntables, a controller with traktor and a basic soundcard can be had as well.