Newbie with external/internal mixing question....
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Newbie with external/internal mixing question....

    Although I've been DJing since '94, I'm new to this digital business and getting into it one step at a time. I've been lurking around this site for a couple of months now and am ready to say hello and ask a question.....

    So far I've bought Traktor Pro and an Allen & Heath Xone K2 controller. These, with my Technics and old three channel mixer, allow me to mix normal vinyl on two channels and mix two more channels internally using the K2 routed to the mixer's third channel.

    Last month I downloaded my first ever track online. It was a strange experience and not as satisfying as crate digging but keeping tracks in my cart for a day or week before actually buying them is great. No more claiming that the records sounded better in the shop. I'm so excited with my new "records" I've been playing (at home) with just the K2 and my laptop which is actually really good fun. However, I'm itching to try out control vinyl and am thinking about spending more money...

    However, there is one thing I cannot figure out and I need the collective wisdom of the forum. If I buy an NI Audio 6/10 sound-card with Traktor Scratch Pro set up to mix externally, can I still set up the K2 to internally mix channels C & D?

    I might go the whole hog and buy a new mixer but want to save that decision for another day...

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    If you want to use timecode vinyl, all your audio routing must go through the Traktor Certified device.
    So if you need 4 decks you'll need an Audio8 DJ or a Traktor Audio 10. Or a 4-channel Traktor Scratch Certified mixer.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    If you want to use timecode vinyl, all your audio routing must go through the Traktor Certified device.
    So if you need 4 decks you'll need an Audio8 DJ or a Traktor Audio 10. Or a 4-channel Traktor Scratch Certified mixer.
    Thanks Makar. I didn't know that. Since I don't like any of the Traktor Scratch Certified mixers*, I think I know what my next purchase is going to be.


    *except maybe the NI Z2

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Desert Hot Springs, CA
    Posts
    763

    Default

    The Z2 has an Audio6 built in.
    Hardware: Akai Max49, Maschine, Equator D5 monitors, Saffire Pro 14
    Software: Logic, Maschine
    My Neighbors Listen to House Music.. Because They Have To.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru dj gullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Faroe Islands
    Posts
    600

    Default

    Yes you can use the K2 for controlling deck C/D but you would have to root the sound through 1 channel of the Audio6/10 to the mixer.
    DJ setup 1 - Pioneer XDJ-Aero, Pioneer DDJ-SP1, Mixvibes Cross, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000. DJ setup 2 - NI Kontrol F1, Z1, X1mkII, Traktor Pro2, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000 w. Production - iMac 21.5", Motu 828x, Icon Qcon Pro + EX, Nektar Panorama P4, Propellerhead Reason, Mashine Mikro(drum programer in Reason)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •