Ableton as DVS?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Ableton as DVS?

  1. #1
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,750

    Default Ableton as DVS?

    Is it possible?
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  2. #2
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,027

    Default

    yes. ms. pinky

    http://mspinky.com/


    it's kind of silly though, I don't think ableton makes a particularly good regular DJ program let alone compared to any proper DVS


  3. #3

    Default

    Look into Ms Pinky, it's not perfect but it's pretty good.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    Mos def. I was just curious. Im trying to find a way to utilize VST effects within the rig. I want to install win7 ona tablet pc somehow and use another card as an fx i/o. Was seeing if I could do it another way. It's crazy watching the whole DJ/Live Performance thing evolve. I remmeber when my bags consisted of two electribes, 808, 303, eurorack 4 channel, a crapload of cables, 40 rekkids, headphones, needles, slipmats, and korg triton. Its intense thinking how I dont have to carry around so much equipment anymore. I cant wait to see what the next decade brings us.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  5. #5
    Tech Guru zimfella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brighton ,UK.
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hellnegative View Post
    I remmeber when my bags consisted of two electribes, 808, 303, eurorack 4 channel, a crapload of cables.
    That sounds like loads of fun! Ive been offered n electribe. Very temting, if just to create sampes for remix decks.

    Mrs pinky sounds good, especially since there is no soft take over in trakor for remix decks volume and filters. Surley ableton does?
    It's not the gear. It's how you use it.
    limitations are the source of creativity.
    If you don't practice you don't want it.

    http://soundcloud.com/zimfella

  6. #6
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    Not too sure Still learning ableton. I produce mostly in FL and Reason 6.5. Learning ableton due to it being way mor elive pa friendly.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,396

    Default

    Ms. Pinky is JUST the equivalent of a VST in Live. It will NOT sync to Lives master clock, so none of the beat-sync'd FX will work properly, unless you manually beatmatch Lives master clock to the DVS.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor P4ULSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The West Coast
    Posts
    274

    Default

    Just FYI Virtual DJ supports full time code and VST's with video support as well

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,396

    Default

    In the past, I know VDJ did not support all VST's, and many VST's would cause VDJ to crash.

    Is that still the case???
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor P4ULSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The West Coast
    Posts
    274

    Default

    i think before VSTi had problems but everything else should work fine. They may have solved that in the new version.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •